Alicia Bugbey

Alicia Bugbey

What’s your name, major and where are you from?

Alicia Bugbey  (She/her). Double major in Interior Design & Design & Innovation Management  

From (complicated) San Diego, CA. Portland, OR. Elmira, OR 

Tell us about your time at Oregon State so far?

 I transferred to OSU Winter term 2021 when courses were on zoom, but I have really enjoyed being on campus this school year. I live an hour away in a small-town west of Eugene and the drive to campus gives me the opportunity to take in beautiful landscapes in the backcountry on my drive to campus. Exploring around campus is one of my favorite things to do between my breaks, I especially enjoy the older buildings. 

Are you part of any clubs, sports, or student organizations? Do you have a job?

I currently do not participate in any clubs.

What kind of work do you do currently? 

Part-time Bartender in my local bar establishment

Do you have any dreams after college? 

YES! I recently decided to apply for The Hospitality Industry Network scholarship. I have worked in the service industry for 17 years and I am interested in moving forward with a career in restaurant design.  

How do you want to make a difference in our community? This could be current or in the future.

In the future, I would like to make a difference by offering my interior design skills to help the Corvallis community, especially for the service industry.  

Is there anything you’re passionate about? How does this apply to your work or impact in your community?

I have been renovating my 1930’s craftsman home with my husband which is what influenced my passion for interior design. What I would love to do is renovate bars and restaurants in my small-town community as well as the homes of the residents who live there.  

You’ve overcome many challenges to get you to this point. If comfortable, please share a challenge and briefly comment on what you learned from it or how you got through it.

I was a 22-year-old attending college when I became a foster parent to my 18-month-old nephew for a year. The experience was life changing and different than many of my peers. I took a ten-year break from college while I gained a lot of work experience. While this was a challenge, I chose the path that was best for me, and I have been rewarded by having the patience and discipline to be a more dedicated student in my 30’s than was possible in my 20’s.  

In the next year of your life, what do you look forward to most? 

I am most looking forward to working on my senior thesis! I am fortunate to have the opportunity to use my home for my thesis project. The project will include a design concept and construction drawings for my personal home renovation. 

If you could deliver one message to your peers, what would you say? (Any type of message. Inspiration, sappy, funny, whatever your heart desires) 

“The sooner you learn to let go and stop caring about what other people think, the sooner you will be able to feel free” -Kate Hudson