OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

General University experts list

 Journalists covering Oregon State University are welcome to call the Department of News and Research Communications (541-737-4611) at any time for assistance, or visit the department’s website at http://oregonstate.edu/ua/ncs/. The follow sources and links may be of some assistance in finding out information about the university.

University Spokesperson

Steve Clark, 541-737-3808 (cell: 503-502-8217), Steve.Clark@oregonstate.edu is the vice president for University Relations and Marketing at OSU and serves as chief spokesperson for the university on timely or sensitive issues. If he is unavailable, contact Annie Heck, associate vice president for URM, at 541-737-0790, Annie.Heck@oregonstate.edu

OSU Experts

Mark Floyd, 541-737-0788 (cell: 541-231-4567), Mark.Floyd@oregonstate.edu is director of News and Research Communication at OSU and can help journalists who are seeking expert sources for their stories. If he is unavailable, contact David Stauth, 541-737-0787, David.Stauth@oregonstate.ed

Top Level Administration

Information about OSU’s administration is available by clicking here. Journalists interested in speaking with OSU President Edward J. Ray should contact Steve Clark, 541-737-3808 (cell: 503-502-8217), Steve.Clark@oregonstate.edu, vice president for University Relations and Marketing. If he is unavailable, contact Annie Heck, associate vice president for URM, at 541-737-0790, Annie.Heck@oregonstate.edu

Other OSU administrators and contact information is included below:

Other Administrative Resources for Journalists

Intercollegiate Athletics

Questions about OSU’s Department of Intercollegiate Athletics should be directed to the Office of Sports Information. The general number is 541-737-3720. Steve Fenk, 541-737-7470, Steve.Fenk@oregonstate.edu is the Sports Information director.

Honor Roll and Graduation Lists

Joan Lease coordinates the dissemination of the university honor roll each term as well as the list of OSU graduates in June. If you have a question about a local student, call Joan between 8 a.m. and noon at 541-737-0781, or email her at Joan.Lease@oregonstate.edu

Campus Crimes and Criminal Investigation

Law enforcement at Oregon State University is provided through a contract with the Oregon State Police, who have established a branch station on campus. The State Police take the lead on criminal activity occurring on campus, and work with other law enforcement agencies for off-campus (but OSU-related) investigations. Lt. Steve Mitchell is the station commander for OSP and can be reached at 541-737-0474;  Steve.Mitchell@oregonstate.edu ; if he is unavailable, contact OSP dispatch at 541-737-3010.

OSU also has an Office of Public Safety, which works with the Oregon State Police and the campus on safety, crime prevention and other issues. Chuck Yutzie is interim director of Public Safety and can be reached at 541-737-3010, Chuck.Yutzie@oregonstate.edu

The university also has an Alerts webpage on which timely warnings from law enforcement, notices of building shutdowns, weather warnings and closures and other emergency alerts are posted.

Student Enrollment and Success

Kate Peterson is OSU’s assistant provost for enrollment management and can answer most questions related to the university’s enrollment numbers, strategy and history, including tuition costs. She can be reached at 541-737-0759, Kate.Peterson@oregonstate.edu. Other key sources relating to the university’s enrollment include:

Student Housing

Dan Larson is executive director of University Housing and Dining, and can answer questions about OSU’s residence halls and cooperatives, as well as plans for future housing. He can be reached at 541-737-0683, or Dan.Larson@oregonstate.edu. Related sources include:

  • Bob Kerr is coordinator of Greek Life at OSU and can answer questions about Oregon State’s fraternities and sororities; he is at 541-737-2311, or Bob.Kerr@oregonstate.edu
  • Steve Clark, vice president for University Relations and Marketing, is part of an OSU-Corvallis collaboration team looking at community issues surrounding off-campus housing. He can be reached at 541-737-3808 (cell: 503-502-8217), Steve.Clark@oregonstate.edu

OSU Facilities, Operations and Construction

Brian Thorsness, 541-737-7344, Brian.Thorsness@oregonstate.edu is executive director of Campus Operations and can answer questions about OSU buildings and other facilities, construction projects, the campus’s physical plant and operations and related issues. Other sources include:

External Relations:

For questions about the OSU Foundation, The Campaign for OSU, or the university’s private giving in general, contact Molly Brown, Senior Director, Communications & Stewardship, Associate Campaign Director for the foundation at 541-737-3602, Molly.Brown@oregonstate.edu

For questions about the OSU Alumni Association, contact Kevin Miller, director of the Oregon Stater magazine, at 541-737-0780, Kevin.Miller@oregonstate.edu