Two Oregon State University researchers named AAAS Fellows


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Two Oregon State University researchers have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, an honor bestowed upon select AAAS members by a vote of their peers.

The OSU honorees are Sally D. Hacker of the College of Science and Dominique M. Bachelet of the College of Agricultural Sciences.

Bachelet was elected, the AAAS said, “for important contributions to the field of climate change science, particularly using simulation modeling of ecosystem response to environmental change.”

Hacker was chosen “for distinguished contributions to the field of coastal ecology, particularly investigating the importance of species interactions to community structure, function and services.” 

Hacker and Bachelet are two of 366 scientists awarded the distinction of Fellow in 2017 in recognition of their contributions to science and technology, scientific leadership and extraordinary achievement across disciplines.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science Council, the AAAS’s policymaking body, elected the Fellows in October, and the results were announced this week.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows dates to 1874. Fellows include astronomer Maria Mitchell (elected in 1875), who discovered a comet that now carries her name; Thomas Edison (1878), whose inventions included the incandescent light bulb; anthropologist Margaret Mead (1934), acclaimed for her field research on culture and personality; and biologist James Watson (1965), who helped discover the structure of DNA.

Five of the 2017 Nobel laureates were AAAS Fellows.

Generic OSU

About Oregon State University: As one of only two universities in the nation designated as a land, sea, space and sun grant, Oregon State serves Oregon and the world by working on today’s most pressing issues. Our more than 31,000 students come from across the globe, and our programs operate in every Oregon county. Oregon State receives more research funding than all of the state’s comprehensive public universities combined. At our campuses in Corvallis and Bend, marine research center in Newport and award-winning Ecampus, we excel at shaping today’s students into tomorrow’s leaders.