OSU honors 40 as Diamond Pioneers


CORVALLIS - Ranchers, farmers, teachers, scientists, natural resource managers and community leaders were recently honored as 1997 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

In all, 40 men and women were added to the college's Diamond Pioneer Registry for their contributions to agriculture and related industries. The registry, honoring those 75 and older, began in 1983 when the college observed its 75th anniversary.

Persons included in the 1997 Diamond Pioneer class were nominated for the honor by OSU departments and Extension agents, county farm bureaus, past Diamond Pioneers, and commodity and livestock associations.

Honored were Eugene Cooper, Blodgett; Louis Randall, Bonanza; Pauline Reed, Burns; Robert Mace, Central Point; Earl Hardie, Condon.

H. P. Adams, George Arscott, Terence Elder, Chauncey Hubbard, Jr., Alberta Johnston, Andrew Landforce, A. N. Roberts, Charles Ross, Marvin Shearer, Ira Stauss, Melvin Westwood and Harold Werth, Corvallis.

Creston Shaw, Cove; Don Coin Walrod, Deer Island; Charles Otley, Diamond; John Hill, Eugene; Catherine Fine, Frenchglen; Ashton Foerst, Grants Pass; James "Bob" Nunamaker, Hood River; Helen Crawford, Ione; Juliette Gunderman, McMinnville; Barbara Watson, Portland.

Albert "Ray" Kilpatrick, Powell Butte; Jyrle (Jerry) Breese and Les Schwab, Prineville; Clint Atherton, Roseburg; Jack Chapin, Margaret Hogg, Corwin Sidwell and Frank von Borstel, Salem; W. L. "Bill" Williams, Silverton; Roy Peterson, Tillamook; Robert Stevely, Warren; Joseph Greenley, Boise, Idaho; and Bonnie C. Templeton, Los Angeles.