skip page navigationOregon State University
OSU Home.|Calendar.|Find Someone.|Maps.|Site Index.

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate » December 4, 1997 Agenda


Thursday, December 4, 1997
3:00-5:00 PM
Construction & Engineering Hall
LaSells Stewart Center

The agenda for the December Senate meeting will include the reports and other items of business listed below. To be approved are the minutes of the November Senate meeting, as published and distributed to Senators.

    Faculty Senate Election Results
    Ken Krane, Ballot Counting Committee Chair, will report on the outcome of the election for Faculty Senate President-elect and Interinstitutional Faculty Senate Representative.

    1. Executive Committee Election (pp. 1-5)
      See attached biographical sketches. Voting will take place during the meeting by Senators or their proxies and ex-officio members only. Three people will be elected for two-year terms beginning January 1998.

    2. Category I Proposal (pp. 6-19)
      Bob Burton, Curriculum Council Chair, will present the Proposal for the Modification of an Instructional Program Leading to the Professional Doctorate in Pharmacy Category I Proposal.

    Intercollegiate Athletics (3:45)
    Lee Schroeder, Interim Athletics Director

    1. New Senator Orientation
      New Senator Orientation will be held January 8, 1998, preceding the regular Senate meeting, in the Valley Football Center. The January Faculty Senate meeting will also be held in the Valley Football Center.

    2. University Awards (pp. 20-21)
      Materials have been sent to Deans, Directors, and Department Heads containing information for the OSU Distinguished Service Award and the following awards:

      OSU Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award
      Elizabeth P. Ritchie Distinguished Professor Award
      Dar Reese Excellence in Advising Award
      Richard M. Bressler Senior Faculty Teaching Award
      OSU Outstanding Faculty Research Assistant Award
      OSU Faculty Teaching Excellence Award
      Extended Education Faculty Achievement Award
      D. Curtis Mumford Faculty Service Award

      A summary of these awards is included in this agenda. All nomination materials for the above awards must be submitted to the Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee, c/o Faculty Senate Office, 107 Social Science Hall, Corvallis, OR 97331-6203 by March 6, 1998; February 6 for the OSU Distinguished Service Award. If you have questions, contact committee chair Beth Strohmeyer at 737-1330 or

      OSU has a highly qualified faculty and few opportunities to recognize their contributions - we depend on you to facilitate nominations for these awards.

    3. Faculty Senate Handbook Return
      If your term as a Senator will be completed on December 31, 1997, and you were not reelected from your unit, please return your grey Faculty Senate Handbook to the Faculty Senate Office as soon as possible so it can be updated and redistributed to new Senators. It would be helpful if you would include a note indicating who is returning the Handbook so it will not be listed as outstanding.

    4. Faculty Senate January Meeting Change of Location
      The location for the January 8, 1998, Faculty Senate meeting and New Senator Orientation has been changed to the Valley Football Center.

    5. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration - Teach-in
      This year's celebration theme is "Makin' it Right: Going Beyond the Dream." The celebration will take place between January 12 and 23. Faculty are being asked to set aside a portion of a class period, an "outside of class" discussion, a conversation on the holiday itself--when classes are not in session--or any kind of intellectual exercise that would educate and stimulate thought, including simply distributing readings.

      Teach-in materials will be available at the January Faculty Senate meeting. Celebration information will also available on the Web under OSU Hot Topics. For more information, contact Linda Paschke at 737-6370 or Phyllis Lee at 737-4381.

    6. Student Appointments to Faculty Senate Committees/Councils
      Students are important members of many Faculty Senate committees and councils and there are currently vacancies in several areas. We would appreciate your help in identifying students who are interested in serving on the following committees/councils. Students may be approached individually, or announcements may be made during class sessions. Anyone interested in serving should be referred to the Faculty Senate Office, 7-4344, for additional information.

      Academic Regulations Committee
      Academic Requirements Committee
      Academic Standing Committee
      Baccalaureate Core Committee
      Budgets & Fiscal Planning Committee
      Committee on Committees
      Curriculum Council
      Library Committee
      Student Recognition and Awards Committee
      Undergraduate Admissions Committee

    Roy Arnold, Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

    President Anthony Wilcox