skip page navigationOregon State University
OSU Home.|Calendar.|Find Someone.|Maps.|Site Index.

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate » October 9, 1997 Agenda


Thursday, October 9, 1997
2:30-5:00 PM
Austin Auditorium
LaSells Stewart Center

The agenda for the October Senate meeting will include the reports and other items of business listed below. To be approved are the minutes of the June Senate meeting, as published and distributed to Senators.

    1. President Paul Risser and Provost and Executive Vice President Roy Arnold
      The President and Provost will report on the current state of the University and present their goals for the academic year.

    1. Bylaws Revisions (pp. 1-4)
      Sally Francis, Task Force on Senate Membership Chair, will present the attached revisions for approval.

    2. Category I Proposal (pp. 5-31)
      Bob Burton, Curriculum Council Chair, will present the Bachelor of Science in Business Administration Minor in Business Administration (through Business-ONE) Category I Proposal for Senate approval.

    All Senate committees and councils are to report to the Senate and describe their work for the year. In most instances, the reports are for the information of the Senate, and committee chairs may not be present at the Senate meeting. These reports may contain specific recommendations and express views upon which further consideration could be taken. Questions regarding a report should be directed to the chair (prior to the meeting, through the departmental affiliation), or the Senate president, if appropriate.

    Academic Advising Council, No report received
    Academic Regulations Committee, Nancy Wendt, Chair (pp. 32)
    Academic Requirements Committee, Cheryl Kolbe, Chair (pp. 33-34)
    Academic Standing Committee, No report received
    Administrative Appointments Committee, Bart Thielges, Chair (pp. 35-38)
    Advancement of Teaching, Robin Rose, Chair (pp. 39-40)
    Baccalaureate Core Committee, Kerry Ahearn, (pp. 41-44)
    Budgets & Fiscal Planning Committee, Goran Jovanovic, (pp. 45-46)
    Bylaws & Nominations Committee, Sally Francis, Chair (p. 47)
    Committee on Committees, Laurel Maughan, Chair (pp.48-50)
    Curriculum Council, Bob Burton, Chair (pp. 51-52)
    Faculty Economic Welfare Committee, James Herzog, Chair (pp. 53-54)
    Faculty Grievance Committee, John Gillis, Chair (p. 55)
    Faculty Mediation Committee, Christine Sproul, Chair (p. 56)
    Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee, Jon Olson, Chair (p. 57)
    Faculty Status Committee, Bob Wess, Chair (pp. 58-59)
    Graduate Admissions Committee, Lloyd Swanson, Chair (p. 60)
    Graduate Council, Jack Drexler, Chair (p. 61)
    Instructional Development and Technology Committee, ZoeAnn Holmes, Chair (pp. 62-63) Library Committee, Elaine Pedersen, Chair (pp. 64-66)
    Promotion and Tenure Committee, Report due in November
    Research Council, Douglas Keszler, Chair (p. 67)
    Student Recognition and Awards Committee, No report received
    Undergraduate Admissions Committee, Mary Burke, Chair (p. 68)
    University Honors College Council, Jim Krueger, Chair (p. 69)

    1. Task Force on Senate Membership Final Report (pp. 70-85)
      Sally Francis, Chair, has provided the Senate with a copy of the final report prepared by the Task Force which is included in the agenda for your information.

    2. Task Force on Senate Membership Forum
      A forum to discuss the Task Force on Senate Membership final report (above) and proposed Bylaws revisions (see Action Item #1) will be held on Tuesday, October 7 from 3:00-5:00 PM in MU 206. This forum is open to all faculty to discuss the recommendations in the report and the proposed revisions.

    3. Faculty Senate Elections
      Ken Krane, Bylaws and Nominations Chair, is accepting recommendations for 1) President-elect, 2) Executive Committee members, and 3) Interinstitutional Faculty Senate representative. Nominations may be forwarded to him the in Physics Department or via electronic mail at Deadline for nominations is October 9.

    4. Faculty Senate Calendar
      Please reserve the following dates for Faculty Senate meetings. All meetings have been scheduled in the LaSells Stewart Center.

      October 9, 1997 - Austin Auditorium
      November 6, 1997 - Construction & Engineering Hall
      December 4, 1997 - Construction & Engineering Hall
      January 8, 1998 - Construction & Engineering Hall

    5. Faculty Senate Committee/Council Chair Meeting
      The Faculty Senate Executive Committee will hold an orientation meeting for committee/council chairs on October 16, from 3:00-5:00 in MU 207. Chairs are encouraged to send a representative from their committee/council if they are unable to attend.

    President Tony Wilcox


Upcoming Dates:

October 7, 3:00-5:00 PM - Senate Membership Task Force Forum, MU 206
October 9, 2:30-5:00 PM - Faculty Senate, LaSells Stewart Center
October 16, 3:00-5:00 PM - Faculty Senate Committee/Council Chair Meeting, MU 207