Awards and honors

Microbiologist recognized for lifetime achievement in Pacific salmon health

The College of Science is proud to announce that Jerri Bartholomew, the Emile F. Pernot Distinguished Professor and Head of the Microbiology Department, was recently awarded the American Fisheries Society (AFS) S.F Snieszko Distinguished Service Award for her outstanding accomplishments in the field of aquatic animal health. This award is the highest honor presented by the Fish Health Section of the AFS.

Wildenschild to Head Up Graduate Programs at OSU College of Engineering


Dorthe Wildenschild

Dorthe Wildenschild has been appointed associate dean for graduate programs in the College of Engineering by Scott Ashford, Kearney Professor and dean of the college.

“We welcome Dorthe to the leadership team of the College of Engineering and, with her expertise, anticipate great progress in our graduate programs and the realization of new opportunities for growth and excellence,” said Ashford.

In her new position, Wildenschild will assist faculty in identifying and developing new graduate programs in the college, coordinate orientation and training for new graduate assistants, and assist five schools within the college to enhance student recruitment.

Wildenschild joins the College of Engineering after serving as associate dean of the Oregon State University Graduate School and director of the Office of Postdoctoral Programs since 2014. She is also a professor of environmental engineering.

“I am pleased to be joining the College of Engineering in this new role, and am looking forward to engaging with students, programs, and faculty in the five schools to support excellence and inclusivity in graduate education in the engineering discipline,” said Wildenschild.

As associate dean of the Graduate School, Wildenschild supervised graduate admissions and enrollment management, as well as the Graduate School IT team. She created and facilitated programs and initiatives to support graduate students, faculty, and academic programs, and interpreted and implemented policies and procedures. Wildenschild worked closely with the Graduate Council and the Curriculum Council on policy changes and updates. She also handled graduate student academic and success-related cases, as well as faculty and program arbitration and resolution.

Wildenschild’s research focuses on flow and transport in porous media to help answer questions about subsurface water pollution and energy-related storage issues. Recent work includes optimization of geologic storage of anthropogenic CO2 in subsurface reservoirs; exploration of colloid-facilitated transport of contaminants in groundwater; microbial enhanced oil recovery; and investigations in support of more effective groundwater remediation techniques. She is currently the principal investigator for an NSF-funded instrument development that will bring a state-of-the-art 3D imaging facility to Oregon State this coming spring.

Wildenschild earned her M.S. in Civil and Environmental Engineering and her Ph.D. in Civil and Environmental Engineering from the Technical University of Denmark in 1991 and 1996, respectively. She joined Oregon State in 2002 as an assistant professor and was named full professor in 2014.

Rosenberger given advising award

Randall S. Rosenberger, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies in the College of Forestry, has been awarded Winner of the 2017 “Excellence in Advising – Institutional Administrator Award” from the Northwest region of NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising.  This award recognizes administrators who have demonstrated a commitment to advising and advisors on their campuses. He is the only recipient for the Pacific Northwest (8 states and provinces).  The award will be presented at the regional NACADA conference in Montana in April 2017.

Emeritus faculty

June 16, 2015

William Warnes, Associate Professor, School of Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering

December 1, 2015

Clint Shock, Professor Emeritus, Department of Crop and Soil Science

April 1, 2016

Mark Moore, Professor Emeritus, School of Arts and Communication

June 16, 2016

George Caldwell, Associate Professor Emeritus, School of Arts and Communication

August 1, 2016

Brenda McComb, Projfessor Emeritus, Department of Forest Ecosystems and Dean Emeritus, Graduate School

September 16, 2016

Melinda Manore, Professor Emeritus, School of Biological and Population Health Sciences

October 1, 2016

John Killefer, Professor Emeritus, Animal and Rangeland Sciences

October 31, 2016

Tammy Bray, Dean Emeritus, Public Health and Human Sciences

November 1, 2016

Alfred Marino, Professor Emeritus, Animal and Rangeland Sciences

December 16, 2016

John Falk, Professor Emeritus, College of Education

January 1, 2017

Richard Vong, Associate Professor Emeritus, College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences

Bruce Geller, Professor emeritus, Department of Microbiology

David Robinson, Professor Emeritus, School of Writing, Literature and Film

February 1, 2017

Ruth Vondracek, Associate Professor Emeritus, Oregon State University Libraries




Comments are closed.