OSU Graduating Art Seniors Exhibit

Alysa Phan, Atama kakushite, shiri kakusazu, 22"x22", screen-print.

Alysa Phan, Atama kakushite, shiri kakusazu, 22″x22″, screen-print.

The OSU Graduating Seniors’ Art Exhibit reception will be held at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, June 4 in Fairbanks Gallery on the Oregon State University campus. During the event numerous awards for the Senior exhibit, and scholarships for the upcoming year, will be announced.

Nineteen graduating art students from various disciplines will participate in this year’s show. Manasa B Adajian, Laura E Borgen, Warren G Burgess, Jasmine N Casimir, Sarah A Church, Ashley N Coleman, Kalen R Ergas, Stirling Gorsuch, Cassie N Lyon, Daniel H Melancon, Nancy E Mildren, Alysa T Phan, Tomas C. Patlan, Julianne Edwards Perkins, Shae G Williams, Marissa K Solini, Jerome B Stretch, Sharlene Wight and Amy Rose Ortwein Woosley are included in the 2015 graduating exhibition.

During the reception, the President’s Award for Excellence in Art will be announced, Provost Sabah Randhawa will present the Provost’s Purchase Award, and Larry Rodgers, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, will present the CLA Dean’s Purchase Award. Senior of Distinction awards will also be presented to outstanding seniors.

Community sponsored awards acknowledging outstanding artwork in the exhibit will also be presented. Blick Art Materials, the OSU Bookstore and Peak Sports are sponsors contributing to the event.

Scholarship awards will be announced for returning students, freshmen, and transfer students. These awards are selected through a competitive portfolio review and will include the Stone/Sponenburgh Scholarship, the Joyce Dickerson Printmaking Award, the Norma Seibert Print Scholarship, Yaquina Art Association Scholarship, the Freshman Foundation Award, the Matsen-Davidson Art Scholarship, the Wayne Takami Memorial Scholarship, the Paul James Gunn Memorial Scholarship in Fine Art, the Fine Arts Award in Painting, the Ida M. Matsen Memorial Award, the Art Department Faculty Award, the Art Department Excellence in Drawing Awards, the Helen E. Plinkiewisch Scholarship and the Sponenburgh Travel Award.

Fairbanks Gallery is open to the public Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Special hours include noon to 4pm on June 13 and 14. The exhibition runs from June 1-14.
The public is welcome to all events.

Comments are closed.