Awards & honors

Bartholomew named Pernot Distinguished Professor

The College of Science is proud to announce that Jerri Bartholomew has been appointed the Emile. F. Pernot Distinguished Professor in the Department of Microbiology. She currently serves as Head of the Department of Microbiology in the Colleges of Science and Agricultural Sciences and as director of the J.L. Fryer Salmon Disease Laboratory.

Konrad named to lead Pride Center

Cynthia Konrad has accepted the position of Assistant Director of the OSU Pride Center. This new position allows Konrad to provide guidance and leadership for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, Asexual and Allied students, faculty, and staff through the administration of the OSU Cultural Resource Centers, Diversity and Cultural Engagement, and the broader OSU community.

Cynthia, also known as “Cindy” comes to OSU from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, where she directed the Pride Center, served as co-director of the Intercultural Center, and taught courses in Women’s and Gender Studies. Cindy’s teaching and research interests include the experiences of LGBTQ* college students, social justice movements, gender and sexuality studies, feminist theory, queer theory, and LGBTQ*, multicultural, and working class literature and culture. Cindy is a doctoral candidate at Purdue University studying Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies and contemporary American literature, and will complete her doctorate this year.  She begins work at OSU on Sept. 1.

New head librarian hired for Guin Library

Mary Markland is the new head librarian for OSU’s Guin Library at the Hatfield Marine Science Center in Newport. She assumed the position in May. The head of the Guin Library oversees the library facilities, staff and services in support of teaching and research at the Hatfield Marine Science Center (HMSC), which includes OSU-affiliated users and state, federal and visiting scientists.

Science students receive more than $2 million in scholarships

The College of Science awarded more than $700,000 in scholarships to 275 current science students for merit, need and undergraduate research experiences for the 2015-16 academic year. The university awarded $1.43 million to 403 incoming freshmen in the College. In aggregate, 678 science students received more than $2.16 million in scholarship awards.

Comments are closed.