Recent award winners

Assessment Academy Poster Winners

More than 60 OSU faculty members attended the second annual Faculty Assessment Academy on Jan. 24. Many served as judges in a lively poster session. The $500 Grand Prize went to Erin Driver, Stasi Kasianchuk, and Brian Souza from the College of Public Health and Human Sciences. Honorable Mentions ($250) went to Sara Dalotto and Tina Clawson from Recreational Sports and to Aaron McKim, Tyson Sorensen, and Jonathan J. Velez representing Agricultural Education.

Excellence in Assessment Awards

Academic Affairs and the office of Academic Programs, Assessment, and Accreditation are pleased to announce faculty winners of $500 awards recognizing Excellence in Baccalaureate Core Assessment. The winners for 2012-2013 are (1) Lori Cramer, Shayla Sharp, and Sheila Cordray for SOC 454/456/480; (2) Kirsi Peltomaki, ART 367. The winning reports clearly aligned assessments with Baccalaureate Core Category Learning Outcomes and described evidence-based plans for improving student learning in the Baccalaureate Core.

University Honors College Eminent Professors

The University Honors College has named Deborah Pence and Indira Rajagopal as UHC Eminent Professors for 2013. The awards recognize faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the education of the high-achieving students in the University Honors College.

“Dr. Pence and Dr. Rajagopal, exemplify a spirit of engagement and a commitment to teaching and mentoring that is central to the success of our students and to the college,” said UHC Dean Toni Doolen.

Rajagopal, a senior instructor in biology, biochemistry and biophysics, has been one of the UHC’s most active and engaged faculty partners for the past decade. Her honors biology laboratory and research section have been central to the experience of UHC students in the life sciences since 2003, and she is one of the leaders of the UHC’s Introduction to Thesis course, a class that prepares all honors students to participate in undergraduate research. She has received the Beaver Champion Award in 2008 and the Loyd F. Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Teaching in Science, also in 2008.This year she was named the Sandy and Elva Sanders Eminent Professor in the University Honors College.

Since her arrival at Oregon State University in 1998, Pence has combined excellence in research, teaching, campus leadership and mentorship, and as a professor in the School of Mechanical, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, she has been instrumental in forging connections between the College of Engineering and the University Honors College. With 28 journal articles published, four patents and involvement as principal investigator or co-principle investigator on over $9 million in grant funding, Pence is a leader in her field who has used her professional accomplishments to advance her service to students.

The UHC Eminent Professor awards are made possible by donors, including Ruth Beyer and Joseph (Sandy) and Cheryl Sanders.


Comments are closed.