Faculty, staff and student honors

Janet Webster

Janet Webster

OLA Distinguished Service Award

The Oregon Library Association has awarded Janet Webster, Hatfield Marine Science Center Head Librarian, the 2013 OLA Distinguished Service Award. This award is given to an Oregon librarian or library staff member for exceptional service over many years. Webster is being recognized for her decades of outstanding leadership in a wide array of community and library organizations.

She has been a particularly effective advocate for federal, state and local policy and legislation which allows libraries to better serve  their communities. The OLA awards are announced each year at the association’s annual conference (held this year as a joint conference with the Washington Library Association). OLA is the state association of library professionals comprised of 1200 members pursuing a mission to promote and to advance library service through public and professional education and cooperation.

OSU Retirement Association (OSURA) Awards 5 Scholarships for 2013-4

At OSURA’s Annual Meeting and Members Social on May 8, five undergrads were awarded $1,000 scholarships to support careers improving healthy aging: Michael Boyd, Pre-Pharmacy; Deepthika Ennamuri, Biochemistry/Biophysics; Claire Ostertag-Hill, Biology; David Shumway, Biology, and Kaitlyn Traynor, General Science (Pre dentistry). For more information, visit osura@oregonstate.edu

General Research Fund (GRF) Spring 2013 Award Announcement

After review and evaluation the Faculty Senate Research Council provided the Research Office with a prioritized list of proposals. The Vice President for Research has approved funding for the following six proposals.

Alcantar, Benjamin (Dept. of Biomedical Sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine): “Comparing Immunological Strategies and Life Spans in Diverse Ungulate Species”

Jander, Albrecht (School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Engineering): “Advanced Spin-Caloritronic Materials for Thermo-Electric Energy Scavenging”

Mustacich, Debbie (Linus Pauling Institute): “Role of Atypical Deoxy-Sphingoid Bases in Secondary Spinal Cord Injury”

Sagili, Ramesh (Dept. of Horticulture, College of Agricultural Sciences): “Understanding Colony Level Prevalence and Intensity of Honey Bee Gut Parasite (Nosema ceranae) and Investigating effects of Colony Nutrition on Persistence of Nosema in Honey Bee Colonies”

Sikora, Aleksandra (Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences, College of Pharmacy): “Evaluation of the Conserved Proteins in the Cell Envelope and Membrane Vesicles of Neisseria gonorrhoeae as Putative Vaccine Candidates”

Silveira, Jason (Dept. of Music, College of Liberal Arts): “Physiological Responses to Music Performance Stimuli”

Faculty Release Time

The Research Office received three proposals for the Faculty Release Time (FRT) Spring 2012-13 solicitation with requests totaling $16,000. After review and evaluation the Vice President for Research has approved the three proposals for funding.

The following proposals have been selected for funding:

·       Bobe, Gerd (Dept. of Animal and Rangeland Sciences, College of Agricultural Sciences): “Dietary Dry Beans for Obesity Prevention and Treatment”

·       Lopez-Cevallos, Daniel (School of Language, Culture, and Society, College of Liberal Arts): “Visual Health among Farmworkers in Oregon”

·       Pollard, Christine (Dept. of Exercise and Sport Science, OSU-Cascades): “Lower Extremity Mechanics following Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction: Implications for Modified Rehabilitation Protocols and Return to Activity Criteria”

Barometer awards

The Daily Barometer reporter Grady Garrett was recognized with a Pacific Northwest regional first-place award for sports column writing in this year’s Society of Professional Journalism Mark of Excellence contest. His work will go on to be judged nationally alongside winners from 11 other regions.  SPJ’s Pacific Northwest, region 10 includes Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.

The Daily Barometer was honored in the regional contest with a third-place award for best large-circulation daily student newspaper. Other awards went to Don Iler for general column writing and news reporting (second place) and to Neil Abrew for photo illustration (third place).

Comments are closed.