Undergraduate research awards announced

Vice President for Research John Cassady has announced the awards for the Undergraduate Research, Innovation, Scholarship and Creativity (URISC) 2008-09 Summer solicitation.

Twelve submissions, totaling $21,600, were funded.

Jing Chen, General Science: “Establishing Mechanisms of Vitamin D Signaling Pathways in Cells”
Jonathan Halama, Microbiology and Botany: “Modified TYMV Capsids Designed for Nanoparticle Technology”
Jeffery Holmes, Computational Physics: “Radio Astronomy Digital Signal Processing”
Kyle Ireton, Biochemistry and Biophysics: “Nongenomic Actions of Estrogen in the Ovine Endometrium”
Peter Kirby, Biochemistry and Biophysics: “Influenza A Virus H5N1 Vaccine to Protect Poultry Populations from Widespread Infection”
Marsha Lampi, Chemical Engineering: “The Relationship between the Molecular Properties and Lubrication Capabilities of Equine Synovial Fluid”
Marisa McAllister, Biology: “Circadian Regulation of Oxidative Stress Response Genes, CncC and Keap1, in Drosophila melanogaster”
Jordan Peterschmidt, General Science (pre-dental): “Allelic Variation at Suiperoxide Dismutase in Biomphalaria glabrata”
Brian Phan, Biology: “Interaction between Dynein Intermediate Chain and Dynactin”
Kevin Price, Accounting and Business Administration with MIS option: “Visualizing XBRL Accounting Flows”
Erin Riscoe, Microbiology: “Searching for New Cyanophages: A Study of the Bacteriophages of Oregon’s Microcystis aeruginosa”
Andrew Lee Willeford, Chemistry, Forensics option: “Enantioselective Total Synthesis of Ovalifoliolatin B”

Comments are closed.