OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

Philosophy Faculty

Transitional Director of the School of History, Philosophy, and Religion: Ben Mutschler
Professors: Campbell, Leibowitz, Moore, Uzgalis
Associate Professors: Blumenthal, Clough, Kaplan, Orosco
Assistant Professors:  Sarbacker, Thompson, Jenkins

Full-Time Faculty: 

 
Dr. James BlumenthalJames Blumenthal
Associate Professor
james.blumenthal@oregonstate.edu.
Indian and Tibetan
Intellectual History,
Mahayana Buddhist Philosophy, Contemporary Buddhist Thought, Justice
Dr. Courtney Campbell Courtney Campbell
Professor,
Hundere Endowed Chair
of Religion and Culture
ccampbell@oregonstate.edu
Biomedical Ethics,
Death & Dying,
Ethics
Dr. Sharyn Clough
Sharyn Clough
Associate Professor
sharyn.clough@oregonstate.edu

 

Philosophy of Science,
Feminism and Science,
Epistemology,
Contemporary Pragmatism

Dr. Stephanie Jenkins
Stephanie Jenkins
Assistant Professor
stephanie.jenkins@oregonstate.edu

 

 

20th Century Continental Philosophy (especially French), Feminist Philosophy, Disability Studies, Critical Animal Studies, and Ethics
kaplan Jonathan Kaplan
Associate Professor
jonathan.kaplan@oregonstate.edu
Philosophy of Science,
Philosophy of Biology,
Environmental &
Research Ethics,
Political Theory

Dr. Amy Koehlinger


   
Amy Koehlinger
    Assistant Professor

 

North American Religious History, American Catholicism, Ethnographic Methods in historical research and writing

leibowitz Flo Leibowitz
Professor
fleibowitz@oregonstate.edu

Philosophy of Art;
Art, ethics and politics;
Film Studies; Metaphysics

Dr. Kathleen Moore Kathleen Dean Moore
Distinguished Professor,
University Writer Laureate

kmoore@oregonstate.edu

Philosophy of Nature,
Critical Thinking,
Environmental Ethics

Dr. Joseph Orosco Joseph Orosco
Associate Professor
joseph.orosco@oregonstate.edu

 

Associate Director
for Philosophy

Social & Political Philosophy,
American &
Latin American Philosophy,
Philosophy of Race
Dr. Stuart Sarbacker Stuart Sarbacker
Assistant Professor
stuart.sarbacker@oregonstate.edu
Comparative Religion
and Indian Philosophy
Dr. Allen ThompsonAllen Thompson
Assistant Professor
allen.thompson@oregonstate.edu

 

 

Environmental Philosophy, Philosophical Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, and Practical Reason

 

 

Dr. Bill Uzgalis Bill Uzgalis
Professor
wuzgalis@oregonstate.edu.

History of Philosophy,
Epistemology,
Metaphysics,
Computers & Philosophy

 

Part-Time Faculty:  

 
Richard Anderson
Hovland 204
andersri27@verizon.net


David Arnold
Hovland 02B
davidscottarnold@comcast.net
 
 
Jon Dorbolo
jon.dorbolo@oregonstate.edu
 

Ina Roy-Faderman

doctori@reductio.com



Charles Goodrich
Director, Spring Creek Project
Hovland 101
charles.goodrich@oregonstate.edu
 

Marta Kunecka
kuneckam@onid.orst.edu

Ben Stenberg
Hovland 01C
stenberb@onid.orst.edu
 

Tony Vogt
Hovland 204
vogtbl@onid.orst.edu
   
     

Emeritus Faculty: 

 
  Peter Anton  
  Marcus Borg  
  Y. Tim Hosoi  
  C. Warren Hovland  
  Peter List  
  Lani Roberts  
  Michael Scanlan  
  Nicholas J. Yonker  

Advisors

Undergraduate Advisor

David Arnold
Hovland02B
Arnoldd@onid.orst.edu
(541) 737-2955

Academic Coordinator

David Bishop
Milam 322B
david.bishop@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-8818

Director of Graduate Studies

Jacob Hamblin
Milam 303A
(541) 737-3503

Administration and Staff

Dwanee Howard
Assistant to the Director
Dwanee.Howard@oregonstate.edu
Milam 322A
(541) 737-7415
 
Lois Robertson
Philosophy Office Manager
lois.robertson@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-5651
 
Heather Stinger
Office Specialist
heather.stinger@oregonstate.edu
Milam 322
(541) 737-3421
 
Robert Peckyno
Public Information Representative
robert.peckyno@oregonstate.edu
Milam 322C
(541) 737-8560