Graduate students from four Oregon universities to compete for best presentation


CORVALLIS, Ore. — Graduate students at Oregon State University, the University of Oregon, the Oregon Health & Science University and Portland State University will compete this weekend for top honors in giving presentations about their research.

The public is welcome to the Three-Minute Thesis competition in which students go head-to-head in their ability to share their research with nonscientists. The event is free and starts at 1:30 pm Saturday, May 21, in the Oregon State Learning Innovation Center.

Earlier this year, the four universities conducted competitions among their own students. The top three winners from each school will participate in the finals at OSU. In the May 11 competition in Corvallis, three Oregon State students — Andrew Brereton, Elizabeth M. Collar and Yunteng He — earned the first, second and peoples choice awards for their presentations.

Judges for the May 21 event include Ilene Kleinsorge, former dean of the OSU College of Business; Tim Nesbitt, former chair of the state Higher Education Coordinating Commission; and Joan Foley, Portland chapter president of ARCS (Achievement Rewards for College Scientists), a nonprofit organization.

The 3MT research competition was developed by the University of Queensland. It challenges graduate students to give a compelling, three-minute presentation about their thesis or project topic with a single slide.

Generic OSU

About Oregon State University: As one of only two universities in the nation designated as a land, sea, space and sun grant, Oregon State serves Oregon and the world by working on today’s most pressing issues. Our more than 31,000 students come from across the globe, and our programs operate in every Oregon county. Oregon State receives more research funding than all of the state’s comprehensive public universities combined. At our campuses in Corvallis and Bend, marine research center in Newport and award-winning Ecampus, we excel at shaping today’s students into tomorrow’s leaders.