Applications Sought for 2009 High School Business Educator Awards


PORTLAND, Ore. – Nominations are being accepted for the 2009 Outstanding High School Business Educator Awards, presented by the Portland Tribune and the Oregon State University College of Business.

Steve Clark, president of the Portland Tribune, said business education forms the foundation of effective leadership. “Great business leaders drive a healthy, sustainable and growing economy that provide for great communities,” Clark said.

Nominations for the awards can be submitted online at: http://portlandtribune.com/news/educator_award.php.

“We are thrilled to partner with Portland Tribune and honor some of the region’s outstanding high school business educators,” said Ilene Kleinsorge, dean of the OSU College of Business. “This award is our chance to recognize the often-overlooked work that high school teachers provide and their dedication to instilling business concepts early in a student’s learning career.”

The deadline for completed nominations is April 3. Nominees must be a high school business educator (teacher, adviser, or administrator) in Oregon or Clark County, Wash., with at least two years of experience in education.

Each of five award winners will receive a $500 cash prize and recognition at the OSU College of Business 2009 Alumni and Business Partner Awards dinner on Thursday evening, May 7, at the Governor Hotel in Portland.

In evaluating nominations, judges will review and evaluate:

• the nominees’ philosophy in teaching business concepts and how their efforts improved business education in innovative ways;

• their efforts to introduce their students to the global marketplace in the classroom and through experiential learning outside the classroom;

• their impact in building student academic achievement and pursuit of career goals.

The Outstanding High School Business Educator Awards were held for the first time in 2008. Jon Abel from North Salem High School, Rollie Marshall from Nyssa High School, Melinda McClure from Phoenix High School, Mark Siegel from the Delphian School, and Adriann Spencer from Centennial High School received the awards last year.