OSU Extension 4-H program selects scholarship winners


CORVALLIS - The Extension 4-H Youth Development Program at Oregon State University has awarded more than $11,000 in scholarships to 12 Oregon 4-H members.

Several Oregon 4-H members receive awards from the Oregon 4-H scholarship program annually, said Mary Arnold, OSU Extension Service 4-H youth specialist. Scholarship winners are selected according to achievement in 4-H activities, contributions to community and academic performance.

The donors who support this program see 4-H scholarships for higher education as an important investment in the future of our families and communities, Arnold added.

"The state 4-H program is very grateful for these scholarships and for the individuals, businesses and organizations that give to the state scholarship program," she said.

For more information about the 4-H scholarship program, contact Arnold at 541-737-1315 or Aaron Escobar of the Oregon 4-H Foundation at 541-737-9330. The scholarship recipients are:

  • Corvallis: Sara Livesay, received a $1,000 Klein Family Scholarship established by Bonne Klein Youngberg, Sally Klein Heinz and Glenn Klein; and Sheena Theisen received a $1,500 Judith K. Hofer Scholarship established by the May Department Stores company in honor of Judith K. Hofer.
  • Eagle Point: Kelsey Heider received a $500 Duane P. Johnson 4-H Scholarship established by Duane and Mary Johnson, colleagues and family friends.
  • Gold Hill: Owen White also received a $1,000 Klein Family Scholarship.
  • Gresham: Shanna Anderson received a $500 Ted and Betty Dietz 4-H Scholarship established by family and friends of Ted and Betty Dietz.
  • Monroe: Shian Ashenbrenner received a $1,500 Martha MacGregor 4-H Scholarship established by a gift from Cecil and Martha MacGregor.
  • Pleasant Hill: Kimberly Olson received a $1,000 James A. Rutledge 4-H Scholarship established by the Oregon 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees in recognition of Jim Rutledge's contributions to Oregon 4-H.
  • Portland: Katrina Wright received a $1,000 Kate Thiess Memorial 4-H Scholarship established by the Kate Thiess endowment fund at OSU.
  • Roseburg: Chantelle Henrikson received a $1,000 Oregon 4-H Foundation Memorial Scholarship, given annually by the 4-H Foundation.
  • Salem: Katharine Dalziel received a $250 Cenex Harvest States 4-H Scholarship established by the CENEX Harvest States Foundation.
  • Tillamook: Kaylyn Jones also received a $1,500 Martha MacGregor 4-H Scholarship.
  • Wallowa: Relissa Wortman received a $682 O.M. Plummer 4-H Scholarship established by O.M. Plummer and given to a 4-H member who participates in a wide range of 4-H activities with emphasis in 4-H livestock projects.