College of Science honors faculty


CORVALLIS - The College of Science at Oregon State University recently recognized some of its faculty for their accomplishments in research, advising and teaching.

Sherman Bloomer, dean of the college, said during a ceremony that some of the groundbreaking research being done at OSU was forging new ways of understanding the world around us.

"Some of the discoveries we've made are opening unexpected doors and making unexpected connections," said Bloomer. "It's a very exciting time to be here."

Bloomer also noted that the quality of research and caliber of people at the College of Science had enabled OSU to hire some very sought after new faculty. OSU's reputation in the sciences is growing both nationally and internationally, Bloomer said.

The awards recipients were:

  • Janice Rosenberg, Environmental Sciences and Brock McLeod, Biology; The Olaf Boedtker Award for Excellence in Advising; $500
  • John E. Fowler, Botany and Plant Pathology; the Lloyd Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Graduate Teaching; $500
  • Andrew Blaustein, Zoology; the Lloyd Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Undergraduate Teaching; $500
  • Stephen Giovannoni, Microbiology; Milton Harris Award in Basic Research; $1000
  • Joseph Spatafora, Botany and Plant Pathology, and Richard Nafshun, Chemistry; Frederick Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching Science; $1500
  • Daniel J. Arp, Botany and Plant Pathology; F.A. Gilfillan Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Science; $1500