Engineering scholars to attend OSU


CORVALLIS, Ore.- Of the 32 Oregon high school seniors awarded prestigious engineering and technology scholarships last month by the AeA, formerly the American Electronics Association, 23 have chosen to attend Oregon State University this fall to study engineering and participate in corporate mentoring and internship programs.

The awards, worth up to $10,000 each, enable the state's outstanding high school seniors with an interest in technology and engineering to attend public universities of their choice in Oregon.

"We are honored that such a large percentage of these scholars have chosen OSU for their engineering education," says Ron Adams, dean of the OSU College of Engineering. "This is a clear indication that our drive to build a top-25 engineering program here at OSU is succeeding. And this success is being achieved by attracting top people like these young men and women, who will provide the bright ideas that will build a better future for Oregon and beyond."

Six Oregon high-technology firms funded this year's scholarships, which are administered by AeA Oregon Council and the Oregon University System. The students are eligible for an annual renewable scholarship of $2,500. In addition, corporate mentors will be assigned to each student, who also will be eligible for paid, 10-week summer internships for up to three years.

Since it was initiated in 1999, 111 scholarships valued at more than $1 million have been awarded.

The scholarship program is an industry response to encourage top Oregon high school students to attend college in the state and to help fill the local need for engineers and computer scientists in Oregon technology firms and other companies dependent on technology, officials say.

Corporate sponsors of this year's scholarship program are Electro Scientific Industries, Hewlett-Packard, InFocus Corp., Intel Corp., Pixelworks, Inc. and Xerox--Office Printing Business.

The 2002 AeA scholars who will study at OSU, their high school and industry sponsor include:

  • ADAIR VILLAGE: Philip Carter, Santiam Christian School, Intel Corporation


  • BEAVERTON: Benjamin Hershberg, Sunset High School, Intel Corporation


  • BEND: Edward Gale, Mountain View High School, Intel Corporation


  • CORVALLIS: Mauricio Juarez, Corvallis High School, In Focus Systems, Inc.; Connelly Barnes, Corvallis High School, Intel Corporation; Kira Ellsaesser, Crescent Valley High School, Intel Corporation; Meghaan Smith, Crescent Valley High School, Intel Corporation


  • ELMIRA: Jason George, Elmira High School, Intel Corporation


  • EUGENE: Leslie Stonelake, South Eugene High School, In Focus Systems


  • GRANTS PASS: Kevin Johnson, Valley High School, Intel Corporation


  • JEFFERSON: Jose Gonzalez, Jefferson High School, Intel Corporation


  • LEBANON: John Joiner, East Linn Christian Academy, In Focus Systems, Inc.


  • LINCOLN CITY: Adam Heiberg, Taft High School, Pixelworks, Inc.


  • MEDFORD: Stephen Snider, South Medford High School, Intel Corporation


  • NEWPORT: Stephanie Hobbs, Newport High School, Intel Corporation


  • PORTLAND: Christine Dass, St. Mary's Academy, Hewlett-Packard Company


  • ROSEBURG: Nicholas Besson, Roseburg Senior High School, Electro Scientific Industries, Inc.; Scott Fehringer, Roseburg Senior High School, Hewlett-Packard Co.


  • SALEM: Vanessa Salinas, South Salem High School, Intel Corporation


  • SPRINGFIELD: Cassie Barton, Thurston High School, Intel Corporation


  • THE DALLES: Beau Bailey, The Dalles High School, Hewlett-Packard Co.


  • TIGARD: Matthew Chin, Tigard High School, Intel Corporation


  • TURNER: Emory Albers, Cascade Senior High School, Hewlett-Packard Co.