OSU College of Liberal Arts honors faculty, staff


CORVALLIS - The Oregon State University College of Liberal Arts has given its highest honor, the CLA Excellence Award, to Henry Sayre, a professor of art history.

Sayre, an internationally known expert on performance art, was among seven CLA faculty and staff members honored at the college's annual awards.

"It certainly is one of the nicest awards given on this campus to a faculty member," he said. "When they announced my name, I got the shakes. It was really exciting. You don't really know how much this will mean to you until you're honored with this award."

Sayre is the author of "A World of Art," one of the most popular art appreciation textbooks in the country. He also was responsible for "Works in Progress," a 10-part documentary series for PBS on the creative process.

Last March, the university named Sayre an OSU Distinguished Professor of Art History. He joined a group of only 25 distinguished professors at the university.

In addition to Sayre, the College of Liberal Arts honored these faculty and staff members in the ceremony at University Theatre:


  • Barbara Melton, assistant to the chair in the Art Department, received the Carolyn Maresh Professional Staff Award, which recognizes outstanding job performance and dedication to the department and the college. Melton is known for her expertise in handling a wide range of administrative details-including the department's budget.


  • Sheila Cordray, an associate professor of sociology, was honored with the ECLAT Faculty Development Award, which honors faculty for professional development to enhance teaching skills, improve curriculum, advance research or take advantage of career opportunities. She is designing a web- and video-based course on "Science and Technology" for OSU Statewide, the university's distance learning program.


  • Kathleen Dean Moore, a professor of philosophy, received the C. Warren Hovland Service Award, which recognizes outstanding service to the college, OSU and the community. She is the author of two collections of essays, "Riverwalking" and "Holdfast."


  • Dwaine Plaza, an assistant professor of sociology, was honored with the Bill Wilkins Faculty Development Award, which is granted to a CLA faculty member to enhance teaching skills, improve curriculum, advance research, or take advantage of career development opportunities. For the past two years, Plaza has worked with the Department of Ethnic Studies to offer a spring break course for students called "Cross-Cultural Perspectives in Agricultural Labor: Learning Through Listening."


  • Janet Lee, an associate professor and director of the Women Studies Program, received the Researcher of the Year Award for her work that bridges two disciplines-women studies and sociology. Lee's research most recently has focused on her writing of a joint biography of Grace Hutchins and Anna Rochester, "Comrades and Partners."


  • Susan Shaw, an instructor in the Women Studies Program, was honored with the Thomas R. Meehan Excellence in Teaching Award, which recognizes an outstanding contribution to undergraduate teaching in the college. Shaw's passion for teaching is well known, and students give her glowing evaluations.