OSU awards women of achievement honors


CORVALLIS - Five Oregon women, including a Portland doctor and four Oregon State University educators, have earned the OSU Women's Center 1999 Women of Achievement Awards.

A public reception is scheduled from 3:30 to 5:30 p.m. on Friday, April 23, at the Women's Center to honor the women.

Recipients include Dr. Elizabeth Newhall, Sylvia Moore, Karyle Butcher, Mina McDaniel and Alexis Walker. The awards are based on devotion to equality and furthering the status of women, and for excellence in work not widely recognized, yet with potential for creating change.

Newhall is medical director at the Downtown Women's Center in Portland. Practicing in obstetrics and gynecology, Newhall is an advocate for abortion rights. She has served in the White Bird Free Clinic at the Oregon Country Fair and was for two years a board member of Oregon National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League and of the Western States Women's Commission. With colleagues from Oregon Health Sciences University, she completed trials of RU486, the "French abortion pill," at Portland's Downtown Women's Center in 1996.

Butcher, university librarian and deputy associate provost for Information Services at OSU, has worked with a number of committees that have addressed women's issues within the university and the Corvallis community. She has served on the OSU President's Commission on the Status of Women, the Child Care Advisory Committee, the Faculty Women's Network Steering Committee, the Minority Affairs Commission and the Association of Research Libraries' Task Force on Libraries as Humane Workplaces. Butcher also was honored as Oregon Librarian of the Year.

She was a member and chaired the board of directors for the Corvallis Center Against Rape and Domestic Violence and Calyx, a small press publishing women's art and literature.

McDaniel, a professor of food science in the OSU College of Agricultural Sciences, has served on the Faculty Women's Network Steering Committee, the Women's Center Advisory Committee, the Faculty Senate and Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

She has also served on the Center Against Rape and Domestic Violence board for the past 10 years, serving as chair for two years, vice chair, secretary, and treasurer.

Moore, recently retired director of University Conference Facilities, Services and Special Events, led efforts to provide opportunities for women in intercollegiate athletics. She helped OSU become a leader in promoting women's sports and was a pioneer in athletic administration, becoming one of the first women in the country to lead a major university athletic program after serving as deputy director in the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics at Oregon State.

An OSU employee for more than 30 years, she was on the faculty of the College of Health and Human Performance, and coached both gymnastics and women's basketball.

Walker, professor of human development and family sciences at OSU, has worked to bring feminist perspectives and methodologies to the discipline of family studies. She has served on several university committees, including the President's Commission on the Status of Women, the Difference, Power and Discrimination Advisory Committee and she heads the University's interdisciplinary program in gerontology.

Nationally, Walker is recognized for her work as president of the National Council on Family Relations and as editorial board member and reviewer for 11different journals that publish family-related research.

Also recognized were nominees Judith Li, OSU Department of Fisheries and Wildlife; Margaret Niess, OSU Science and Math Education; Genie Regele, Corvallis United Methodist Women; Kathleen Avina, OSU Department of Forest Science; and Christine Snow, OSU Department of Exercise and Sport Science.