OSU Faculty Senate honors L.L. "Stub" Stewart


CORVALLIS - The Oregon State University Faculty Senate gave a special award to Loran L. "Stub" Stewart and Elizabeth Stewart on Thursday, honoring the Eugene couple for their contributions to OSU faculty.

Maggie Niess, president of the OSU Faculty Senate, presented a plaque to Stub Stewart, a 1932 OSU forestry graduate and retired president of Bohemia, Inc.

In 1975, the Stewarts established the Mr. and Mrs. L.L. Stewart Faculty Development Awards to stimulate the professional development of OSU faculty and improve teaching. Since that time, more than $528,000 has gone to funding faculty projects. Overall, 330 awards have been give to more than 265 individuals, according to Vickie Nunnemaker, administrative specialist in the OSU Faculty Senate office.

"Through the support of Stub and Elizabeth Stewart, a lot of faculty members have been able to participate in many diverse forms of professional development that have had a direct impact on the quality of students' educational experiences at Oregon State University," Niess said.

An honorary trustee of the OSU Foundation, Stub Stewart is one of the university's most active boosters. He has served in the Oregon State Legislature, on the Oregon State Board of Higher Education, on the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee, and numerous other committees. He is a former president of the World Forestry Center, and a former director of the Nature Conservancy.

Stewart was an initial recipient of both the university's E.B. Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award and the OSU Distinguished Service Award.