OSU Foundation elects new officers and trustees


CORVALLIS - Dwayne L. Foley of Oak Grove has been elected chairman of the board of the Oregon State University Foundation. Foley, senior vice president of Northwest Natural, succeeds Keith R. McKennon, chairman of the board of PacifiCorp.

Cecil Drinkward of Portland, president of Hoffman Corporation, was elected to succeed Foley as president of the board of trustees.

Margaret "Peggy" Wood of Portland, financial executive of The Hallock Agency, was elected vice president. Board treasurer is Thomas J. Usher of Portland, senior vice president and managing director of Cushman and Wakefield of Oregon, Inc.

In addition, James H. Rudd of Portland, a principal partner of Ferguson, Wellman, Rudd, Purdy and Van Winkle, was elected as an executive committee member at-large.

Foley was elected to the board of trustees in 1994. He has served on the audit, corporate relations, executive, and investment committees and the leadership forum. He received a mechanical engineering degree from OSU in 1967.

Drinkward was elected to the board of trustees in 1990. He has served on the foundation's executive and investment committees and the leadership forum.

Wood has been a member of the board of trustees since 1996. She has served on the executive committee and the leadership forum.

Usher became a foundation trustee in 1992 and has served on the executive committee and as chair of the real property committee.

Rudd, who has been a trustee since 1993, has chaired the charitable estate planning committee.

The OSU Foundation is a nonprofit corporation formed in 1947 to receive and administer private gifts for the benefit of Oregon State University. Its assets total $236 million.

In addition to electing officers, the foundation elected trustees to serve three-year terms beginning July 1. Those new to the board or re-elected to continuing terms are:

ASTORIA: Duane V. Jue, dentist, re-elected.

CLACKAMAS: Timothy L. Jensen, executive vice president of Charter Investment Group; newly elected.

CORVALLIS: Kenneth R. Johnson, dentist, newly elected; Mario D. Pastega, Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co., re-elected.

EUGENE: Edward J. Zollner, senior vice president and Western region manager, US Bancorp, re-elected.

FOREST GROVE: Donald W. Moore, Moore Information, re-elected.

LAKE OSWEGO: Paul G. Lorenzini, senior vice president of PacifiCorp, re-elected; James D. Mendenhall, entrepreneur, newly elected; Don Waggoner, senior vice president for corporate development of Leupold and Stevens, Inc., newly elected.

MEDFORD: Betty Fowler Root, newly elected.

PORTLAND: William M. Brod, re-elected; Earle M. Chiles, Earle Chiles and Affiliated Companies, re-elected; Richard M. Clark, vice president of Allied Power Products, Inc., re-elected; Gordon W. Gilkey, curator of prints and drawings, Portland Art Museum, re-elected; John D. Goss, former owner Goss Dairy, newly elected; Rod A. Moore, president of Adams, Hess, Moore and Co., re-elected; Lawretta Morris, re-elected; Sue Wilson Poorman, newly elected; Marilyn Stevenson, re-elected; Thomas J. Usher, senior vice president and managing director of Cushman and Wakefield of Oregon, Inc., re-elected.

TIGARD: Duane C. McDougall, president and chief operating officer of Willamette Industries, Inc., newly elected.



STOCKTON: Harley J. Smith, president of Harley Smith Investments, newly elected.

LOS ALTOS HILLS: Stephen T. Merchant, re-elected.



BERWYN: Pamela Fox Emory, writer, re-elected.



HOUSTON: Richard J. Campo, chairman of Camden Property Trust, re-elected.



EASTSOUND: W. Charles Armstrong, consultant, newly elected.

MUKILTEO: James W. Poirot, CH2M Hill, re-elected.