Ag College honors outstanding achievement


CORVALLIS - Outstanding achievement by faculty and staff in the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences was recognized Tuesday during the college's annual Faculty and Staff Day.

Bernadine Strik, Corvallis, associate professor of horticulture and Extension small fruits specialist, received the Briskey Award for Faculty Excellence. At OSU since 1987, Strik was cited for work in Extension, teaching, and research. She works in Oregon's berry and cranberry industries and is recognized as an authority on hardy kiwifruit production.

Receiving awards for excellence as classified and management service employees of the college were Anita Brown and Dianne Simpson, both of Corvallis. Brown is office manager in the food science and technology department where she has worked since 1982, holding a variety of positions. Simpson is office manager for the botany and plant pathology department, where she has worked for 25 years and had numerous responsibilities.

The college's Award for Excellence in Extension Education went to Mark Mellbye of Albany, an Extension agent working with grass seed, wheat, and other grain producers in Benton, Lane, and Linn counties. Mellbye, at OSU since 1987, was cited for his work with the grass seed industry in identifying new markets for straw and other alternatives to open field burning.

The award for excellent in international agriculture was given to Thomas Cusack, associate professor, Office of International Research and Development. Cusack, an agricultural economist at OSU since 1984, is research manager in the final year of a five-year project in Senegal funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development. He has also worked in Malawi, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Ireland, and Scotland.

The F.E. Price-Agricultural Research Foundation award for excellence in research was presented to David E. Williams of Corvallis, a professor of food science and technology. At OSU since 1987, Williams works with the Marine-Freshwater Biomedical Sciences Research Center where he directs the center's training grant for graduate student and post-doctoral research and training.

The Price-Agricultural Research Foundation award for excellence in student advising and counseling went to Paul Doescher, Corvallis, head adviser in the rangeland resources department. At OSU since 1982, Doescher teaches, supervises graduate students, and advises undergraduates. He also is a former faculty adviser to the Range Club and coaches the department's plant identification team.

James A. Moore, Corvallis, professor and Extension specialist in bioresource engineering, received the Ferguson Distinguished Professor award. At OSU since 1979, Moore has worked extensively with Oregon livestock producers to eliminate confined animal feeding operations as a source of water pollution. He also has pioneered the utilization of constructed wetlands to improve water quality.

The Savery Outstanding Young Faculty Award went to Gregory M. Perry of Corvallis, a professor of agricultural and resource economics. At OSU since 1986, Perry was cited for both his research and teaching. He is a leading scholar in the area of agricultural taxation and depreciation and equipment replacement. As part of his teaching responsibility, Perry enlists students in preparing enterprise budget estimates for major Oregon commodities.

Ronald E. Wrolstad of Corvallis, a professor of food science and technology, received the R.M. Wade award for excellence in teaching. He teaches both undergraduate and graduate courses and also conducts research in food chemistry with an emphasis on quality issues affecting Oregon's fruit and vegetable processing industry.

Wrolstad was also one of three named to the college's Registry of Distinguished Teachers for 1996. The others honored were J. Herbert Huddleston, Corvallis, professor and Extension soil scientist in the crop and soil science department; and Larry Larson, La Grande, professor of rangeland resources and coordinator of OSU's agricultural program on the Eastern Oregon State College campus.