OSU Distinguished Professors

Oregon State University recognizes as Distinguished Professors individuals who have achieved national/international stature as a result of their contributions to scholarship/creative activity, research, education and service, and whose work has been notably influential in their fields of specialization.

2013 Distinguished Professors

Joseph Beckman  -  "The Linus Pauling Institute and the Environmental Health Sciences Center:  Why study ALS at OSU?"

 Joseph Beckman, director of the Environmental Health Sciences Center, is the Ava Helen Pauling Chair in the Linus Pauling Institute, as well as Principal Investigator. He is perhaps best known for his discovery of the role of peroxynitrite in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s disease, as well as his studies on antioxidants and nutrients that may help slow progression of the disease. View a video of the lecture. 

Thomas Dietterich  -  “Computer Science, Machine Learning, and the Pursuit of Knowledge”

Thomas Dietterich,  was chosen president-elect of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence. His research has numerous applications in such diverse fields as drug design, electronic manufacturing, information management, ecological modeling, and natural resource management.  Dietterich is a pioneer in the field of machine learning and is one of the most highly cited scientists in his field. He has obtained more than $30 million in research grants over his career, helped build a world-class research group at Oregon State, and created three software companies. Dietterich also co-founded two of the field’s leading journals and was elected first president of the International Machine Learning Society. View a video of the lecture. 



Distinguished Professors in Alphabetical Order

Alan Acock, Human Development & Family Science

Dan Arp, University Honors College

James Ayres, Pharmacy

George Bailey, Environmental & Molecular Toxicology

Joseph Beckman, Environmental Health Sciences

Luiz Bermudez, Veterinary Medicine

Andrew Blaustein, Environmental Sciences

Larry Boersma, Crop and Soil Science

Marcus Borg, Religious Studies

Arthur Boucot, Zoology

James Carrington, Ag Botany & Plant Pathology

Dudley Chelton, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences

Tracy Daugherty, English

Thomas Dietterich, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Stephen Giovanni, Microbiology

Paul Farber, History

Balz  Frei, Linus Pauling Institute

John Fryer, Microbiology

K. Norman Johnson, Forest Resources

Douglas Keszler, Chemistry

Jo-Ann Leong, Microbiology

Jane Lubchenco, Zoology

Christopher Mathews, Biochemistry/Biophysics

Jeffrey A. McCubbin, Nutrition and Exercise Science

Jeffrey J.  McDonnell, Forest Eng Resources & Mgmt

Bruce Menge, Zoology

Kathleen Dean Moore, Philosophy

Frank Moore, Zoology

Jeffrey J.  Morrell, Wood Science and Technology

Michael Oriard, English

Donald Reed, Biochemistry & Biophysics

William Robbins, History

David Robinson, English Department

William Sandine, Microbiology

Henry Sayre, Art

Lewis Semprini, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering

John Sessions, Forest Eng Resources & Mgmt

Arthur Sleight, Chemistry

Fred Stormshak, Animal Sciences

Steve Strauss, Forest Ecosystems & Society

Robert Tanguay, Environmental and Molecular Toxicology

T. Darrah Thomas, Chemistry

Kensal Edward Van Holde, Biochemistry/Biophysics

Richard Waring, Forest Science

Patricia Wheeler, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences

James White, Chemistry

Ronald Wrolstad, Food Science and Technology