ASOSU Senate approves resolution to divest from fossil fuels

February 9th, 2014 | Jesse Pettibone

How do we make the leap to a clean-energy economy?  According to Van Jones in’s climate change documentary Do The Math,

“Take the money away from the problem-makers and give it to the problem-solvers”

That’s the reasoning behind the nation-wide divestment campaign, which asks universities, cities, and religious institutions to stop investing their endowments in the fossil fuel industry and reinvest those funds in renewable energy, energy efficiency or socially responsible companies.

Divestment supporters pose with Senate Resolution-73.01. The ASOSU senate voted unanimously in favor of the resolution.

Divestment supporters pose with Senate Resolution-73.01 after is was unanimously passed by ASOSU.

After a year of organizing and outreach by faculty and students, the ASOSU Senate unanimously approved the resolution on Tuesday requesting the OSU Foundation to:

1.  Immediately cease all new investment in any of the top 200 fossil fuel companies.

2. Use its expertise to ensure that within five years none of its assets include holdings in such companies.

This victory for the OSU Divest campaign adds to momentum gained last December when the OSU Faculty Senate approved the same resolution.  Although both resolutions are non-binding, they provide a strong statement in favor of fossil fuel divestment on behalf of both OSU students and faculty.

Uniting for Climate Justice:OSU faculty and students gather to discuss climate change and civil rights as part of a celebration in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

OSU faculty and students unite for climate justice as part of a celebration in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Next steps: Representatives from OSU Divest will meet with the advisory committee to the OSU Foundation.

If you would like to get involved with OSU Divest, visit their Facebook page or website for more information. Regular meetings are held Tuesdays from 12-1pm in Furman 411A, and Fridays from 12-1pm at the Student Sustainability Center (738 SW 15th St).

Comments are closed.