skip page navigationOregon State University
OSU Home.|Calendar.|Find Someone.|Maps.|Site Index.

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate » Executive Committee Member

2009 Executive Committee Member

THEO DREHER (at OSU since 1987) Professor and Head, Department of Microbiology, College of Agricultural Sciences and College of Science

FACULTY SENATE SERVICE: Agricultural Sciences Senator, 2006-present; and Graduate Council, 2006-08

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURAL SCIENCES SERVICE: Promotion and Tenure Committee, 2008

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE SERVICE: Promotion and Tenure Committee, 2009, 2007, 2005

UNIVERSITY SERVICE: University Budget Committee, 2008–present; and OSU Radiation Safety Committee, 1990-06 (Chair, 2002-03, 1991-93)

SEARCH COMMITTEE: Graduate School Assistant Dean, 2007

Candidate Statement:  Serving as head of a department that is an integral part of two colleges provides a broad perspective. That is helpful in remembering the diversity of viewpoints when examining university-wide issues. My philosophy of leadership is to attempt to facilitate the aspirations of people, who can then enjoy (or at least not be impeded in) making their contributions to OSU. I believe that most professors chose to work at OSU because of being able to combine teaching and research. I worry that research is becoming under-valued as we redesign OSU and I will resist that through the EC if elected.