skip page navigationOregon State University
OSU Home.|Calendar.|Find Someone.|Maps.|Site Index.

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate » 2009-2010 Annual Report

Library Committee

Annual Report

During the 2009-2010 academic year, the Faculty Senate Library met each term to carry out its responsibility of advising the University Librarian in the three areas outlined in its standing rules: (1) meeting the learning, instruction, and resource needs of students, faculty and staff; (2) formulating library policies in relation to circulation, budgets, services, and development of resources for instruction and research; (3) interpreting the needs policies of the library to the University; and 4) identifying and addressing issues regarding scholarly communication (e.g. print and electronic journals and books).


Assisted the Valley Library with the following activities:
  • Assigning study carrels (VL: Cheryl Middleton; FSLC: Elizabeth Thomas)
  • Evaluating Library Travel Research Grant applications – 9 submissions, 3 awards (VL: Faye Chadwell, FSLC: Stacey Smith)
  • Reviewing Undergraduate Library Research Award applications – 4 submissions, 2 awards (VL: Jennifer Nutefall; FSLC: Tara Williams)

Consulted on critical issues affecting OSU Libraries, including:
  • The trial of the 24/5 plan (keeping the library open for 24 hours 5 days of the week)
  • The creation of the Learning Commons on the 2nd floor
  • Possible uses for space opening up on the 4th floor (faculty research commons, graduate student work space, etc.)
  • Open Access and the Scholars’ Archive
  • Collaborations between OSU and UO libraries on expanding visiting borrowers’ privileges and reducing redundancy in collections
  • ASOSU proposal to make course materials available on reserve in the library

Had website for FSLC resources created (currently posted: library budget presentation and John Willinsky’s talk on open access):

Formed a subcommittee to focus on Open Access issues (Chair: Lee Sherman, Members: David Noakes, Dave Myrold, and Jeff Breitenfeldt)

Issues and Agenda Items for the 2010-2011 Library Committee:

Provide feedback on the library realignment and on the hiring process for the new University Librarian after Karyle Butcher’s retirement in the fall

Support proposal to provost to expand funding for Library Research Travel Grant program (from $10,000 to $15,000)

Continue to support (and increase awareness of) Open Access initiatives

Membership – 2009-2010
  • Tara Williams '10, Chair
  • Lee Sherman '10
  • David Noakes (v. Armas) '10
  • Alan Acock (v. Schwartz) '11
  • Elizabeth Thomas '11
  • Hua-Yu Li '11
  • Stacey Smith '12
  • TBA (v. Smith) '12 (Miranda Smith left OSU in February 2010)
  • David Myrold '12
Student Members:
  • Heather Bennett
  • Jeffrey Breitenfeldt (grad)
  • Jimmy Rosacker (undergrad)

Ex-officio: University Librarian Karyle Butcher
Executive Committee Liaison: Kate Halischak (Associate University Librarians Faye Chadwell and Jennifer Nutefall also attended meetings to advise or consult with the FSLC.)