Oregon State University


The Oregon Hazard Explorer for Lifeline Program (O-HELP) was created by Oregon State and its partners to provide basic information on the potential risks of landslides, ground shaking and liquefaction in the event of a Cascadia subduction zone earthquake. Find out how to use this convenient online tool.

Through research and partnerships throughout the greater Portland metropolitan area, Oregon State University faculty and staff are working to improve the economic health and preserve the quality of life of the region and the state. Read more...


OSU News

Conservation scientists call for global strategy to halt threatened animal extinctions

Jul 26, 2016
Aiming to stop the looming extinction of large wild-animal species across the globe, a group of international conservation scientists has issued a call for actions to halt further declines.… Read full story.

Town hall will help citizen scientists learn how to participate in eclipse movie

Jul 25, 2016
Corvallis citizen scientists are invited to attend a town hall forum focused on next year’s total solar eclipse. … Read full story.

Screening, discussion of “World Peace” film on Aug. 5

Jul 25, 2016
A screening of the film “World Peace and Other 4th-Grade Achievements," will be held at Linus Pauling Middle School in Corvallis on Friday, Aug. 5.… Read full story.
OSU News Release

Preliminary checks indicate OSU students, faculty safe following Munich shooting

Jul 22, 2016
Preliminary checks have not identified any OSU students, faculty or staff who were injured in the shooting incident July 22 that left at least six people dead in Munich, Germany.… Read full story.

Portland Highlights

Benny Beaver greets one of his favorite Portland Metro television personalities, the genial KATU-2 meteorologist Dave Salesky. Dave is a self-confessed weather geek, which comes in handy in the Pacific Northwest. He has a seal from the American Meteorological Society and a certificate of meteorology from Mississippi State University, and has forecasted weather from Spokane to Portland. And, like Benny, Dave is an avid outdoorsman who can usually be found out enjoying Oregon's rivers and mountains when he's not forecasting the next arrival of rain.

Contact Info

Copyright ©  2016 Oregon State University