Oregon State University

Oregon State University Retirement Association

OSURA promotes continuing collegial ties among all OSU retirees and between retirees and the University community by providing opportunities for ongoing intellectual growth, social interaction and service to the University.

Why should you become a member?

Are you a current member?


OSU Trivia Questions:

1. What was the first animal mascot adopted by the school [then the Oregon Agricultural College (OAC)] in 1893?

Answer:  Jimmie the Coyote (1892-93).  According to OSU archival notes, Jimmie was owned by M.H. Kriebel, a local football enthusiast.  Records are inconclusive, but suggest that OSU was first referred to as the Beavers around 1910 or 1916.


2. OSU is a land-grant, sea-grant, space-grant, and sun-grant institution, making it one of only two US institutions to obtain all four designations.  What other US university has these four designations?

Answer:  Cornell University in Ithaca, NY



Any OSURA member can purchase baseball caps, visors, or polo shirts with the updated OSURA logo by ordering directly from Shirt Circuit on NW 9th Street.  The OSURA logo was redesigned in 2014 to be consistent with OSU’s “brand”.

 *  Polo Shirts - Colors Orange, Black or White

            Men’s and Women’s No-Pocket Styles;  Men’s Style with Pocket

            All Cotton or Cotton-Polyester (65/35) Blend

            1-color or 2-color embroidery (Orange, Black or White)

 *  Baseball Caps and Visors - Colors Orange, Black, White or Stone

            1-color or 2-color embroidery

When ordering individually, prices will vary depending on the type of shirt or cap/visor and the number of embroidery colors you choose.  The estimated cost for short sleeve polos in a cotton/poly blend with 2-color embroidery is $28-$35.  Baseball caps and visors with 2-color embroidery are about $15-20.  Check with Shirt Circuit for current prices.  Shirt Circuit is located at 1411 NW 9th in Corvallis, telephone 541-752-8380.  Shirt Circuit records are under the file name OSU Retirement Association or Oregon State University Retirement Association (not OSURA). 


2014-15 OSURA Board Members

2014-15 OSURA Board Members

Back row: Tony Van Vliet, Gordon Reistad, Jack Walstad, Roy Arnold, Sue Borden, Tom McClintock, Barbara Moon and Cheryl Lyons.

Fron row: Tom Savage, Jack Drexler, Shelly Signs, Dave Chilcote, Mary Alice Seville, Helen Polensek, Gerry Olson and Terri Tower.

2013-14 OSURA Board Members

2012 OSURA Board

Left to Right: Tom Savage, Gordon Reistad, Tony Van Vliet, Roy Arnold, Sue Borden, Barbara Moon, Carol Kronstad, Dave Chilcote, Gerry Olson, Terri Tower, Jack Drexler, Helen Polensek, Cheryl Lyons, and Kelly DiCristina

Not pictured: Jim Krueger, Tom McClintock


2012-13 OSURA Board Members

2012 OSURA Board


Back Row: Kate Sanders (former office manager), Roy Arnold, Cheryl Lyons, Terri Tower, Jim Krueger, Dave Chilcote, Carroll DeKock, Tom McClintock, Mary Ann Roberts
Front Row:
Helen Polensek, Gerry Olson, Carol Kronstad, Sue Borden, and Tom Savage.
Not pictured: Tony VanVliet and Gordon Reistad.


2011-12 OSURA Board Members

2012 OSURA Board Members

2011-2012 Board Members (Pictured from left to right)

Back row:  Tom McClintock, John Block, Erin Haynes
Middle row:
Dave Chilcote, Carol Kronstad, Helen Polensek, Terri Tower, Jim Krueger, Mary Ann Roberts, Tom Savage and Carroll DeKock
Front row: Kate Sanders, Gerry Olson, Steve Clark (VP of University Relations and Marketing), Susan Poole and Caitlin Flynn
Not pictured: Gideon Alegado



2010-11 OSURA Board

2010 OSURA Board

2010-2011 Board Members (Pictured from left to right)
Back row:  Shelly Signs, Terri Tower, Gary Tiedeman, Helen Polensek, Carroll DeKock, Jim Krueger, Carol Kronstad, John Block, Erin Haynes
Front row: Susan Poole, Todd Simmons, Jo Anne Trow, Gerry Olson
Not pictured: Gideon Alegado, Tom McClintock, Kate Sanders

2009-2010 OSURA Board

OSURA Board Members

2009-2010 Board Members (Pictured from left to right)
Back row:  Jim Krueger, John Block, Erin Haynes, Terri Tower, Bill Smart, Curt McCann, Kate Sanders.
Front row: Luanne Lawrence, Susan Poole, Helen Polensek, Carol Kronstad, Jo Anne Trow, Gideon Alegado.
Not pictured: Gary Tiedeman

Learn about OSU buildings named after women (updated Oct. 2009)

Contact Info

OSU Retirement Association Oregon State University 205 Adams Hall Corvallis, OR 97331 Phone: 541-737-4717 Send us an e-mail
Copyright ©  2015 Oregon State University