Channels allow content owners to group media together and restrict access to that media to only a defined list of users. Note: if you publish your media to a public category, adding that same media to a Channel will not restrict who has access to it.
Upon creating a Channel, you determine if that Channel is Open, Restricted or Private. Depending on your choice, you are then required to define who is a member of your Channel if you wish them to access the content therein. You do this as follows:
A content owner can remove any of his media from a Channel to which it had been previously submitted. Channel managers can remove any content that has been previously submitted to their channel. If you're a content owner:
Playlists allow you to group content together for embedding on an external web page. Every time you add a new or remove an item to a Playlist, your embedded player automatically updates to reflect this change. Playlists presently are only Adobe Flash compatible and only work in browsers with the Flash plug-in installed.