Class Members & E-mail addresses
Winter 2000

Here are your fellow class members in ED 416:


Kathryn Banks   
Coos Bay, OR
        


Victoria Barklow   woof@harborside.com
Coos Bay, OR
        My husband Randy and I have two wonderful children. They are helping more since mom went back to school. I have worked in the public school system for 17 years as an educational assistant. It feels so good to be learning again. I'm grateful we have these classes offered here.


Deborah Brown   dtbrown@harborside.com
Coos Bay, OR
        I'm 38, have been married almost 19 years to my high school sweetheart. We have a daughter in 8th grade and a son in 10th grade. I went to University of Oregon for 4 years and was 22 hours short of graduation when I had my son. I decided to start a home-based business so I could stay home with him. I continued in that business for 14 years before starting back to school to finish my degree so I could become a teacher. I coach cheerleading in my spare time (do any of us really have any spare time?!) and am currently getting ready to take my team to competition. I will graduate in March so have been filling out applications for Masters/certification programs. What I really want to do when I graduate is sleep for a week!! Good Luck to everyone this term.   –Debbie


Carol Chard   potter44@gte.net
North Bend, OR
         I have a Bachelors degree in Arts and Humanities and am currently taking pre-ed courses at OSU to facilitate my entry into their fifth year professional teachers licensure program. I have worked and volunteered with children in the field of art for the past six years and am currently a substitute teacher and clay instructor at the SWOCC Family Center.


Kenneth Dew   2Kenneth@gte.net
Coos Bay, OR
        My name is Kenneth Dew and this is my first year taking classes from OSUand also my first experience with classes taught on the Web. I am 37 years old and have been married 10 and 1/2 years and have 3 sons ages 10, 8, and 5.
        I have been a volunteer at Charleston Elementary School for 3 years now and have worked mostly with grades K-2 but also have worked some with 3rd and 4th grades.
        Though this is my first year with OSU I will be completing my Bachelors in aproximately one year and am looking forward to beginning my 5th year in fall 2001 with any luck.
        When I have finished with school I would like to teach in grade levels K-2. The children at this age are so excited about learning and it has been a pleasure working with them the last couple of years as a volunteer. I would also like to work on earning a Masters Degree after I finish with the program that I am now in.
        I was able to return to school to pursue a career in education because I became disabled to the point of not being able to work due to the Rheumatoid Arthritis that I have so if anyone needs tips on working with vocational rehab I might be able to help. I am also more than happy to discuss my disease if anyone has questions.
        I am also very involved in my church serving as an officer, writing poetry, singing, and had the opportunity to deliver two messages over the Christmas break (this was a first and I was quite nervous).


LeeAnne Dillard   leeannedillard@hotmail.com
Coos Bay, OR
        I am at Junior status in my college career. Growing up I taught Sunday School classes and was a camp councilor for many summers. I have always enjoyed working with children and I plan on teaching either 3rd, 4th, or 5th grade (I enjoy that age group the most!) My husband, Ryan, works at Wal-Mart and we do not have any children yet (just a dog, Elwood.) I work two part time jobs that take up a lot of time, but I always put my education first. I look forward each term to getting closer to my goal of being a teacher and cannot wait until that day arrives.


Yvonne Diana Drozdowicz   droz29@hotmail.com
Charleston, OR
        Hi, my name is Yvonne and I have a bachelors degree in Journalism/Public Relations from Humboldt State University in Arcata, CA. I am the manager of the Capt. John's Motel in Charleston. I am currently divorced and am a mother of three children, Olivia - 7yrs old, BonScott - 3 yrs old, and Alicja who is 1 year old. I have always loved watching little ones learn and love to teach them. It is exciting to see them grasp lessons and grow in knowledge. It has been a goal for me to become an elementary school teacher, and I am very happy that I can finally make this happen.


Jacqueline Ekelund   jekelund@presys.com (home); jekelund@nbhs.nbend.k12.or.us (work)
North Bend, OR
        I am the bookkeeper and assistant to the athletic director at North Bend High School. I have a bachelor's degree in Child Development from Oregon State University. I am married to Rick a commercial fisherman with an engineering degree from Oregon State. We have three children. Neil, 27, is a teacher and coach at Coquille Valley Middle School. Sara, 22, ia a fifth year senior at U of O pursuing degrees in dance and EMS. Liz, 18, is a freshman in journalism at the U of O. As you can tell, education has always had top priority in our family and, after 30 years, I have decided to go back to school and pursue my personal goal of being a classroom teacher.   –Jackie


Rebecca Givens   givensr@ucs.orst.edu
Bend, OR
         I have been at OSU for 2+ years now. I am hoping to get my bachelors and start teaching in a high school within the next three years (if I'm ambitious maybe I'll go for the masters degree soon). I came back to Central Oregon for this year because I needed a break from all of the rain—my personal preference is snow. I have no children, but intend to have a couple later on. I enjoy hunting and the outdoors, Central Oregon has been the best at catering to that. Anyhow I am looking forward to starting this class and getting to know many of you from the Coos Bay area. Please feel free to drop me a line.   – Becky Givens


Dale R. Herring II   fishtwo@gte.net
Coos Bay, OR
        My name is Dale Herring and I am 28 years old. I have a Wife named Becky and two daughters, Maureena (8) and MacKenzie (6). I work at Wal-Mart and have for almost five years. I am also the coordinator of the Coos County Reads Program through the RSVP office on the SWOCC campus. My wife is attending school full time at SWOCC. This is my junior year at OSU. I am looking forward to becoming a teacher because I think that children in our day and age need more positive male role models in their life and I hope that I can play a part in that role. In my spare time (which is very slim) I like to spend time with my family or go golfing. I also enjoy reading.


Ted Homenick   Bcougs@aol.com
Bend, OR
         My name is Ted Homenick and I am a distance learning student from Bend. I am in the Liberal studies program and plan to transfer to Eastern Oregon to get my masters in education. I am not quite sure if I want to teach elementary or secondary, I'm still deciding. I coach baseball at Bend High; this will be my second year. I love working with the kids, it never gets old. I have never taken an internet course before, so I have some reservations about the class. I feel most comfortable when there is an instructor in front of me during class in case I have any questions about an assignment or about the information given during the lecture.


Mary Novak   lighthouse49@cs.com
Coos Bay, OR
         My name is Mary Novak and this is my second year taking OSU Distance classes. It has always been my dream to be an Elementary School teacher and the OSU program is helping me to do that. I have two jobs in addition to school and in my precious free time I like to read (non textbooks) and do various craft projects.


Karen Selinsky   ksleinsky@hotmail.com
Bend, OR
         I am 44 years old and returned to college last fall after a long absence. I've always wanted to get my degree but kept making excuses. In the interim period I have sung in bars, managed a restaurant, been the office manager of an interior design store, a loan officer, and also owned a preschool (8 years).
        I am active in my church and community and I love kids and seem to be a natural born teacher which is why I plan to teach middle school math when I graduate and get my masters in education. My interests include: my boys (ages 13 and 16), sports—especially tennis and volleyball which I play competitively, and music (I play guitar and sing).
        I love school and would enjoy hearing from any of you. :)


Diane Smith   marks@mail.coos.or.us
Bandon, OR
        My name is Diane Smith and I live in Bandon. I have two girls, age 3 and 4. I am in my junior year working towards a degree in education. I have always wanted to be a teacher and after having children, wish to teach even more. I enjoy watching children experience new things and hope to be a good influence in students' lives.


Nita Young   gnyoung@coosnet.com
North Bend, OR
         My name is Nita Young and I am currently taking classes through the distance learning program offered through OSU. I plan on majoring in Liberal Studies and will continue with my fifth year in Elementary Education. I am interested in all age levels of elementary and probably will be able to be more specific as I take additional practicum assignments. I am now working in a second grade classroom in the Coos Bay School district. I have two children. My daughter Samantha is in 5th grade and my son Cole is in the 2nd grade. My husband Gary, is the Project Manager for OMI at their Coos Bay plant. I have always known that I would be a good teacher and I am excited and proud to be stepping into this field.


And here is a short bio of your instructor:

Sally Atkin   satkin@southwestern.cc.or.us
Coos Bay, OR
        Hello and welcome to ED 416! Let me tell you a little about myself. I have a Masters Degree in Education and have taught elementary school, grades 4 and 5 for 14 years in Corvallis and Albany, OR school districts. I worked for two years at OSU in the School of Education as a MAT student teacher supervisor/instructor and have had experience as a substitute teacher in the state of Washington before moving to Coos Bay. I am now in my second year working for OSU Distance and Continuing Ed. on the campus of Southwestern Oregon Community College where I advise students in all distance programs. In addition to this, I work for the OSU School of Education as an instructor of education courses, supervisor of student teachers and supervisor of practicum students. I have a husband and three boys, ages 11, 7 and 5. In my free time, I enjoy volunteering at my sons' schools and facilitating parenting classes at a local elementary school. I absolutely love the field of education and hope to continue my life's work in this profession.

Back to ED 416/516 home