Oregon State University

Google Drive

Google Drive

What is Google Drive?

Google Drive is a cloud storage service that provides each account unlimited storage. Since your data is saved to Google's servers, you can access your files anywhere you have an internet connection. You can upload documents, presentations, pictures, videos, and anything else you may need.

NOTE: Standard image, video, and text file types are supported by Google Drive. You can view the same files as you can using Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Adobe Reader, and many others including .ZIP and .RAR file types. A full list of the file types can be found here.

How do I access Google Drive?

Access Google Drive via the Google Apps for OSU login portal. If you are already logged in to Google Apps for OSU but are using a different app, you may click Drive at the top of any Google page.

How do I use Google Drive?

 

Creating Google Files

Create Button

To create a file, click the red "Create" button (labeled as 1 in the screenshot). This option allows you to create folders, text documents, presentations, spreadsheets, forms, drawings and more! Simply choose the file type you wish to make.

 

Uploading Files

If you wish to upload a file or folder from your local computer, click the red "Upload" button (labeled as 2 in the screenshot) and select the files or folders you wish to add to the drive.

 

Downloading Files

To download a file that is saved on the Drive:

  1. Check the box of the file/files you wish to download
  2. Click on the More button
  3. In the drop down menu, click Download.
Download

 

Sharing Files

Sometimes you will want to share your file with another person:

  1. Check the box of the file/files you wish to share
  2. Click on the More button
  3. In the drop down menu, hover over Share, and then click "Share..." in the new menu
  4. Add the people with whom you wish to share the document. In the "Invite people" section of the panel, type their name (if they are an OSU student or employee) or their email address. (note: these persons must have Google accounts to see the file you share.)
  5. By default, you are prompted to send an email to persons with whom you are sharing. Alternatively, uncheck the "Notify people via email" box and, instead, copy the "link to share" URL at the top of the sharing settings menu and send that to your collaborators.
  6. Click Done

If you didn't find the answer to your question here, please visit our FAQs page.

Contact Info

Copyright ©  2014 Oregon State University
Disclaimer