Food Science & Technology Research

Our research programs have impacts on multiple levels. Undergraduate and graduate students participate alongside faculty who are leaders in their field on research that advances understanding in the food sciences. Industry partners conduct real-world trials in the fermentations sciences, sensory evaluation and more.

FST Research in the News

Dr. Yanyun Zhao holding muffin baked with pomaceResearcher: Pomace Full of Promise
Lacy Jarrel, Capital Press | photo: Lynn Ketchum

Dr. Yanyun Zhao, Professor, holds a muffin baked with grape pomace, used as a food additive.

Yanyun Zhao, a value-added food products specialist with the OSU Extension Service, has recently developed new uses for grape pomace — the skins, pulp, seeds and stems. The U.S. wine industry produces 4 million tons of wine grape waste each year.

(Read more...)

 

Onions in OSU greenhouseOSU Researcher Lands High-Stakes Food Safety Grant on Onions
Lynn Terry, The Oregonian 

Assistant Professor, Joy Waite-Cusic, will study onions and contaminated water in a high-stakes project for Oregon onion growers. 

It might not sound sexy but this study could make a big difference in Oregon. Onions are among the state's top 10 crops with an annual production of 1.3 billion pounds and $115 million in sales.

(Read more...)


Research Advisors/Major Professors

Alan T. Bakalinsky, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Wiegand Hall | alan.bakalinsky@oregonstate.edu
Yeast physiology; strain characterization and improvement for fermentation processes including winemaking, biofuels, value-added products.

Mark A. Daeschel, Ph.D., Professor, Wiegand Hall | mark.daeschel@oregonstate.edu
Food microbiology and safety, development of antimicrobial intervention systems.

Christina DeWitt, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Director Astoria Seafood Lab | christina.dewitt@oregonstate.edu
Focus is on efforts to improve seafood quality and safety and enhance utilization of by-products generated from seafood processing.

Lisbeth M. Goddik, Ph.D., Professor, Wiegand Hall | lisbeth.goddik@oregonstate.edu
Extension Dairy Processing Specialist; Extension dairy processing; dairy products safety; product and process development; optimization of product quality.

Juyun Lim, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Wiegand Hall | juyun.lim@oregonstate.edu
Sensory science with emphasis on sensory perception and sensory methodology. Current research focusing on understanding the role of human sensory perception in food preference. Developing sensory and consumer testing methodology.

Robert J. McGorrin, Ph.D., Department Head, Jacobs-Root Professor | robert.mcgorrin@oregonstate.edu
Flavor chemistry and trace volatile analysis, food analysis, chromatography and separations, spectrometry, and natural products chemistry. (Not accepting graduate students)

Michael T. Morrissey, Ph.D. Professor, Superintendant Food Innovation Center | michael.morrissey@oregonstate.edu
Value-added products, emerging technologies in food processing, seafood safety and health benefits. Helping small and mid-size food business meet new challenges through product and processing innovations.

James P. Osborne, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Wiegand Hall | james.osborne@oregonstate.edu
Wine microbiology with emphasis on malolactic fermentation and the microbial spoilage of wine. Influence of various wine microorganisms on wine quality.

Jae W. Park, Ph.D. Professor, Astoria Seafood Lab | jae.park@oregonstate.edu
Fish proteins; surimi processing and by-products utilization; surimi-based seafood products; functional and rheological properties of food additives;  advanced food processing techniques.

Michael H. Penner, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Wiegand Hall | mike.penner@oregonstate.edu
Bio-based processes for the conversion of plant-derived biomass to fermentable sugars for bioproduct and biofuel production; mechanisms dictating rates of plant-derived biomass biodegradation; analytical approaches for the characterization of plant-derived biomass.

Michael Qian, Ph.D., Professor, Wiegand Hall | michael.qian@oregonstate.edu
Flavor Chemistry,  Food Analysis, and Dairy chemistry. characterization of aroma compounds, chemical and biological generation in dairy, small fruits and wines. Instrumental analysis of food components.

Andrew S. Ross, Ph.D. Associate Professor; Crop Science (split appointment) | andrew.ross@oregonstate.edu
Fundamental and applied research of cereal grain components, wheat-based foods (focused on food barley, noodles, and artisan breads), and bio-products from cereal grain fractions. Located in the OSU Cereal Breeding & Cereal Genetics Program in the Crop and Soil Science Department.

Neil Shay, Ph.D. Professor, Wiegand Hall | neil.shay@oregonstate.edu
Bioactive compounds in fruits and vegetables that impact human metabolism and disease conditions including atherosclerosis, obesity, and diabetes; investigations on the health benefits of grape and wine consumption; studies include the ability of bioactive compounds to lower blood cholesterol and triglyceride levels.

Tom H. Shellhammer, Ph.D. Professor, Wiegand Hall | tom.shellhammer@oregonstate.edu
Brewing science and technologies related to beer production and quality, in particular hop chemistry, flavor and quality.

Yi-Cheng Su, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Astoria Seafood Lab | yi-cheng.su@oregonstate.edu
Seafood microbiology and safety with a focus on improving quality, increasing shelf-life, and reducing bacterial contamination of seafood.

Elizabeth Tomasino, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Wiegand Hall | elizabeth.tomasino@oregonstate.edu
Relationships between wine sensory and chemical data; determination and importance of chiral aroma compounds in wine; differentiation of regional wine styles.

J. Antonio Torres, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Wiegand Hall | j_antonio.torres@oregonstate.edu
Novel and conventional applications of high pressure processing and pressure-assisted thermal processing. Applications of optical methods for process control and research. Functional properties of natural polymers.

Joy Waite-Cusic, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Wiegand Hall | joy.waite-cusic@oregonstate.edu
Food microbiology with food safety emphasis; specifically interested in pathogen prevalence studies and risk assessment, method development and validation for detection of pathogens, and process validation and surrogate development.

Yanyun Zhao, Ph.D. Professor, Wiegand Hall | yanyun.zhao@oregonstate.edu
Development and characterization of new food processing and packaging techniques with emphasis on their applications in value-added fruit and vegetable product development.

Research Faculty

Cindy Lederer, M.S., Senior Research Assistant, Wiegand Hall | cindy.lederer@oregonstate.edu

Brian Yorgey, M.S., Senior Research Assistant, Wiegand Hall | brian.yorgey@oregonstate.edu

Instructor/Head Advisor

Dan Smith, M.S., Head Advisor/Senior Instructor, Wiegand Hall | dan.smith@oregonstate.edu