Oregon State University

November 9, 2012 Student Media Committee Minutes





Voting Members Present                                Steve Clark, Peter Betjemann, Stacey Edwards, Noreen Siddiqui, Megan Haverman, Hayden Wilcox, Thomas McElhinny, Brendan Sanders


Voting Members Absent                                 Agustin Vega-Peters


Non-voting Members Present                         Julia Sandidge, Kami Hammerschmith, Don Iler, Samara Simpson, Carly Chandler, Ashley Painter, Nicole Oliveira, Kurt Hagan


Non-voting Members Absent                         Nathan Bauer


Guests Present                                                Kate Willson, Bill Gross


Julia Sandidge called the meeting to order. Everyone present introduced him/herself and his/her role on the committee.


Kami Hammerschmith reviewed the draft updated University Student Media Committee Policies and Procedures document. The Policies and Procedures were last updated in 1996. HR reviewed the document and marked areas requiring update to current compliance. This summer Samara Simpson and Ashley Painter updated the document. The updated document is being reviewed by HR and legal counsel.


A discussion was held around what should constitute a quorum of the committee. Two options provided included: (1) A quorum shall be six (6) or more Committee voting members, with no less than three (3) voting student members and three (3) voting faculty members. OR (2) Instead of requiring a certain number of students and faculty, to require that ‘the majority be present.’ After a long discussion, Steve Clark moved that “A quorum shall be defined as five (5) or more Committee voting members, with no less than three (3) voting student members and two (2) voting faculty members.” Thomas McElhinny seconded. The motion passed unanimously.


Clark moved that we add Section V, Letter F, Number 4, “When applicable, students will abide by Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) and Radio, Television, Digital News Association (RTDNA) Codes of Ethics as guiding principles.” Peter Betjemann seconded. The motion passed unanimously.


Betjemann moved that we remove Section IV, Letter B, “Hear complaints not resolved by the student leader or Director of Student Media,” and change Section IV, Letter F to “Hear and investigate complaints involving Student Media….” He removed the word content from the description of complaints. Noreen Siddiqui seconded. The motion passed unanimously.


Hammerschmith will make these edits to the Policies and Procedures and forward them to HR and legal counsel for review.


Following the review and discussion of the Policies and Procedures, Sandidge gave an overview of the SPJ and RTDNA Codes of Ethics.


The next item of business was to elect a new chair. Per the Policies and Guidelines, the Chair should be a faculty member who has served at least one year on the committee. Betjemann moved that “he not be chair and Noreen Siddiqui be selected chair.” Clark seconded. The motion passed unanimously.


The committee then selected a new vice chair. McElhinny moved that “Brendan Sanders be selected as vice chair for 2012-13.” Megan Haverman seconded. The motion passed unanimously.


A discussion was held about the designation of emergency sub-committees. In the past specific members have been appointed to a print or broadcast sub-committee. It was recommended that the emergency committee be established as a quorum of the full committee. All voting members will be invited to any emergency meeting of the committee and quorum will be required to hold the meeting, regardless of division of print or broadcast. The emergency committee will then report back to the full committee at the next regular meeting.


Don Iler reported on the Student Incidental Fees Committee (SIFC) recommendations for 2013-14 budgets. They are recommending a zero increase. Any increases to the current budget must be justified and presented as a decision package. We need to think about what we need in the future while building the FY13-14 budget. The Committee will probably need to meet the first week back in January to review the budgets.


Sandidge thanked everyone for his/her service on the committee.


Having no further business, the meeting was adjourned.


Contact Info

OSU Student Media
210 Memorial Union East (Snell Hall)
Corvallis, OR 97331
Copyright ©  2014 Oregon State University


541-737-6323 (FM)  541-737-3522 (TV)