skip page navigationOregon State University
OSU Home.|Calendar.|Find Someone.|Maps.|Site Index.

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate » Elections

2000 Elections

TO: 	      Eligible OSU Voting Faculty

FROM: 	   Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate
	        Gordon Matzke, President, OSU Faculty Senate

RE: 	     1.  Election of Senate President-Elect
	        2.  Election of Interinstitutional Faculty Senate Representative

On October 6, 1977, the Faculty Senate adopted amendments to its Bylaws that provide for the 
officers of the Senate — a President and a President-Elect. Their duties are outlined in Section 2, 
Article VI of the Faculty Senate Bylaws.

A brief statement concerning the Interinstitutional Faculty Senate appears in the OSU Faculty 
Handbook. Current IFS representatives are: J. Antonio Torres, Food Science and Technology; Gary Tiedeman, Sociology; 
and Bruce Sorte, Agricultural Sciences.
Eligibility: Those Faculty determined to be eligible to be elected and to vote in the election of 
Senators of the Faculty Senate are also entitled to vote in the election of the Senate President-Elect 
and IFS representative.

Method of Voting: As specified in Senate action of June, 1978, the election is to be conducted 
through mail ballot. Ballots for those eligible to vote in the election are mailed to individual faculty 
members whose names have been provided to the Faculty Senate Office by the University. 

Dates of Voting: The election will be conducted November 9–December 5, with signed ballots 
returned to the Faculty Senate Office (107 Social Science) no later than 5:00 PM on Tuesday, 
December 5. Late ballots are not counted.

Election and Ballot Counting Committee: A ballot-counting committee is appointed by the Senate 
President. Results of both elections are published in the staff newsletter, OSU THIS WEEK, and 
reported at the December Faculty Senate meeting.

Nomination and Election Procedures: The candidates for this election were determined at the 
November 2 Faculty Senate meeting. Biographical sketches and candidate statements for each of 
the candidates are enclosed. The ballot contains  nominees for President-Elect and IFS 
Representative on the same card. Any faculty member eligible to vote who has not received a ballot 
by November 14 should call the Faculty Senate Office (541-737-4344) to determine inclusion on the 
computer-generated list of eligible voters provided by the University.

Candidate Statements: In addition to the enclosed statements, candidates were given questions to 
answer regarding their candidacy. 

                                                     PLEASE REMEMBER TO VOTE....