MLK award winners announced

award winner

President Ed Ray congratulates winner Leonora Rianda (photo by Julian McFadden)

During the annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Peace Breakfast at Oregon State University, three OSU community members were honored for their service and commitment to social justice.

The Phyllis S. Lee Award honors a member of the Oregon State community who exemplifies Dr. Lee’s commitment and dedication to social justice and the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. This year’s winner was Linda Marie Richards, a history of science instructor.

The Frances Dancy Hooks Award recognizes Oregon State students, staff or faculty who exemplify Frances Dancy Hooks’ work: building bridges across cultures, showing courage in promoting diversity, and proudly “Walking the Talk.” The 2018 winner was Leonora Rianda, office specialist for Ethnic Studies and president of the OSU Local 083, a sub-local of SEIU Local 503.

The Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award was created this year to honor Oscar, who served the Oregon State community with incredible diligence and grace over a thirty-year career. The award honors an Oregon State student who embodies Oscar’s ethos of selfless service; steady, strong, considerate leadership; and trailblazing spirit and heart. This year’s recipient was

Demetrius Watts, president of the OSU Phi Beta Sigma chapter, and a student in human development and family sciences.

Comments are closed.