OSU radio station garners national recognition

KBVR-FM has garnered national recognition for a second consecutive year as a finalist for best college radio station at a university with more than 10,000 students from Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS).

KBVR-FM received eight nominations in total for the 2015 IBS Golden Microphone Awards. The station has two finalists for best football play-by-play; Matt Walton and Josh Worden for their call of Oregon State’s 35-27 upset over the Arizona State Sun Devils, and Josh Worden and Brenden Slaughter for their broadcast of OSU’s 45-31 loss to Cal.  Zhian Kamvar and Joey Hulbert received their second consecutive nomination for most innovative program with their science talk show Inspiration Dissemination.

Additionally, four KBVR-FM staff members were recognized. Matt Walton is a finalist for best station manager; Rose Kearsey for best promotions director, Bethany Henry for best productions director, and Nathan Mayers for best program director. Winners will be announced at the 75th annual national IBS conference in New York City on March 7. The conference will be attended by four station delegates who will be hosting a workshop on managing large groups of volunteers.

“I feel incredibly honored to be a finalist for Best Promotions Director,” said Kearsey. “Our team works hard to provide quality content for both the Oregon State University and Corvallis communities.”

“We have done a great job as a station at improving our image and raising the bar for ourselves,” said Walton. “I view these nominations as a sure sign that this is a transformed program committed to inclusivity and professionalism.”

KBVR-FM is Oregon State University’s college radio station. It is entirely student-run and is programmed by over 110 student volunteer DJs. Programming includes live sports broadcasts, live music, news, sports and talk shows.


One Response to “OSU radio station garners national recognition”

  1. marius cosmin says: