Awards and honors

 Genetic coding research receives $1.83 million in federal funding

Ryan Mehl, associate professor in the Biochemistry and Biophysics Department, has been awarded two prestigious grants for his work on using genetic code expansion to change how we can use and study proteins. Mehl was granted a four-year, $900,835 award by the NSF as well as a five-year $937,500 award from the NIH.

Physics professor named APS Fellow

Janet Tate, Dr. Russ and Dolores Gorman Faculty Scholar and professor in the Department of Physics, has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS). Election to fellowship in the APS is a rare and highly prestigious honor that is conferred upon no more than one half of one half percent of the society’s membership.

Materials chemist awarded nearly $800K in NSF grants

Milton Harris Chair Professor of Materials in Chemistry Mas Subramanian will soon embark on highly significant scientific research and discovery after winning two prestigious highly competitive National Science Foundation (NSF) grants. One of his projects, “Discovering Insulating Topological Insulators,” will potentially lead to room-temperature superconductors and other advanced semiconducting electronic materials that could revolutionize the computing, energy and electronics industries.

Chemistry professor elected 2015 AAAS Fellow

The College of Science is proud to announce chemistry professor Walter D. Loveland has been elected a 2015 Fellow to the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest general scientific society.  Loveland was recognized for his pioneering contributions to nuclear chemistry, radioactive beams and heavy residues, for service to the profession and for mentoring future leaders in science.



Comments are closed.