Women’s Center celebrates Women of Achievement, Student Leaders

The 28th annual Women’s Center awards takes place today, May 10, at 3 p.m. in the MU Lounge. This year’s Women of Achievement Awardees are Pat Ingram, Julia Jones and Candy Pierson Charlton.

The three women who will be honored with the Women of Achievement awards impressed the committee for having gone above and beyond in their commitment to equity and success of OSU students and women in the greater community.

They have a demonstrated commitment to equality, and dedication to furthering the lives of women, especially those of OSU students, are engaged in work that has positively affected the lives of women, and have served as a role model in the lives of girls and/or women.

The OSU Women’s Center Student Leader awardees are Maria Nguyen, Julie Stewart, Britton Goodale and Elba Moise.

The four students who will be honored with the Student Leader awards, stood out among more than 40 other nominations for their outstanding contributions of scholarship, leadership, and service in their lives including their time at OSU.

They excelled in course work, contributed to their field through research or published works, have taken on leadership roles in clubs or organizations and are trusted and dependable student workers in labs, departments, or elected offices.

Parcella Provence, who will be receiving the Lifetime Achievement award, will be honored for her consistent commitment and dedication to ideals of OSU and empowerment of its community member. Parcella will be retiring from OSU this year. She served OSU in various positions including as a staff member at the Women’s Center and later on its Advisory Board as a member and co-chair. 

For more information: womenscenter@oregonstate.edu


Comments are closed.