Student awards

DAMchic Magazine wins People’s Choice and nomination for Best Fashion Publisher

Magazine cover

DAMChic cover

The Portland Fashion & Style Awards has named the Oregon State University student-created fashion and lifestyle publication DAMchic Magazine as a People’s Choice winner and official Top 4 nominee for Best Fashion Publisher 2013. DAMchic Magazine is created and operated by a group of OSU students, most of them from the School of Design and Human Environment.

Former DAMchic Editor-in-Chief and OSU alum, Erin Hatley, and current editor Katie Sherpe, alongside few staff members, will attend the Oct. 26 awards ceremony in Portland.

This is the magazine’s second nomination in the Best Fashion Publisher category since it was founded September 2012.

The Portland Fashion & Style Awards is an annual awards show that recognizes local fashion and style talent.

For more information:

 Two OSU Student Media journalists among national finalists recognized by the Associated Collegiate Press

Among the top-10 Feature Story of the Year finalists, honored by the Associate Collegiate press was the story of an OSU football player who dealt with depression and chose acting over athletics. Warner Strausbaugh, editor in chief of The Daily Barometer, wrote the story while serving as sports editor last year.

“I’m tremendously honored to be a finalist for this award,” Strausbaugh said. “I have to thank Michael Beaton, the subject of my story, for allowing me to tell his story. It was a long project and one that required diligence, and I received a ton of help along the way. Vinay and myself being finalists is a microcosm of all the hard work everyone puts in at the Barometer.”

Barometer photojournalist Vinay Bikkina is also a finalist in the photo excellence category for his shot of a student jumping into a crowd during “Jump,” a fraternity recruiting event, last fall.

The Associated Collegiate Press is the oldest and largest national organization supporting college student journalists.  ACP’s Pacemaker awards are considered the Pulitzers for college media. Other universities honored as finalists in these categories include Harvard and Georgetown Universities. The Associated Collegiate Press will announce winners at the national conference in New Orleans at the end of October.

The Oregon Association of Broadcasters also honored two KBVR TV programs for excellence for non-commercial TV stations. Beaver News received the “Best Public Affairs Show” and In the Pines, a music news show, was recognized as the “Most Uniquely Oregon” program.

Two of five scholarships given out by OAB also went to KBVR TV students. Hayden Wilcox was awarded the Bobby Dee Memorial Scholarship and Josh Worden won the Bill Schonely Broadcast Scholarship.

“They all put in so much hard work and it is great to see them get the recognition for all they do,” said KBVR TV Station Manager Shane McKinnon.  Both shows and other KBVR programs are distributed on Comcast channel 26 in Corvallis, and streamed on

For more information contact: Student Media Director Julia Sandidge at 541-737-4615


Comments are closed.