Graduating senior art exhibit

The OSU Graduating Seniors’ Art Exhibit reception will be held at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday, June 4 in Fairbanks. During the event, awards for the exhibit and scholarships for the upcoming year will be announced.

Fourteen graduating art students will participate in this year’s exhibit. During the reception, President Edward Ray will present the President’s Award for Excellence in Art. Provost Sabah Randhawa will present the Provost’s Purchase Award, and Larry Rodgers, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, will present the CLA Dean’s Purchase Award.

Senior of Distinction certificates are to be presented to outstanding seniors in the fields of Fine Art, Photography, and Art History.

Community sponsored awards acknowledging outstanding artwork in the exhibit will also be presented.

Scholarship awards will be announced for returning students, freshmen, and transfer students.  These awards are selected through a competitive portfolio review and will include the Stone/Sponenburgh Scholarship, the Joyce Dickerson Printmaking Award, the Norma Seibert Print Scholarship, the Fall Festival Award, Yaquina Art Association Scholarship, the Freshman Foundation Award, the Matsen-Davidson Art Scholarship, the Wayne Takami Memorial Scholarship, the Paul James Gunn Memorial Scholarship in Fine Art, the American Dream Nancy Semas Award, the Fine Arts Award in Painting, the Ida M. Matsen Memorial Award, the Hollands Memorial Scholarship, the Art Department Faculty Award, the Art Department Excellence in Drawing Awards, the Kelsi Rae Force Memorial Scholarship and the Helen E. Plinkiewisch Scholarships.

Fairbanks Gallery is open to the public Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.  The exhibition runs from June 3–14.  The public is welcome to all events.

Comments are closed.