Awards and honors, June 12, 2013

Rick DeBellis wins Hans Neukomm Award

Ricardo (Rick) DeBellis, student services manager at Oregon State University, has been honored by Leadership Corvallis as the 10th Hans Neukomm Award winner.

A 2007 graduate of Leadership Corvallis, DeBellis is well known for volunteer work. He has served in various capacities with the Downtown Corvallis Association (2002 to 2007), Leadership Corvallis (2008 to 2011), the Center Against Rape and Domestic Violence (2004 to present), the OSU Motorcycle Visibility Day Planning Committee (2006 to present) and the Doc Wong Motorcycle Clinics of Albany and Eugene (2011 to present).

“He is a creative problem solver and crushes town versus gown barriers everywhere he goes,” said 2012 Hans Neukomm award winner Ben Danley, who nominated DeBellis. “Rick, like Hans and the previous Hans Neukomm Award recipients, is a great example of what can be done by someone who cares to get involved in their community.”

Established in 2004, the Hans Neukomm Award is named for the founder of Leadership Corvallis. Neukomm, who passed away in 2011, envisioned Leadership Corvallis as a way to give participants a better understanding of how our community functions so they can be more effective in the workplace and community.

This year’s participants from OSU included Marlys Amundson, Emily Bowling, Kaci Buhl, Nicole Real, Laura Shields and Kathryn Stroppel. For more information about Leadership Corvallis, visit

Phi Gamma Delta named rising Greek chapter

The Center for Fraternity & Sorority Life is pleased to announce that Phi Gamma Delta has been recognized as a Rising Greek Chapter as part of the Circle of Excellence program.

The Circle of Excellence program recognizes those Greek chapters that satisfy 26 program criteria representing the key values of Diversity, Community, Scholarship, Leadership and Service. This program is designed to inspire the Greek community to achieve their potential and align with the core values of the OSU Greek community.

Phi Gamma Delta is the first Greek organization to be so recognized with this award.

Comments are closed.