Awards and honors 5-22-13

Undergraduate Mentor of the Year

Skip Rochefort, Associate Professor in the School of Chemical, Biological, and Environmental Engineering, has been chosen as OSU’s 2013 Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year.  The award, which was created to recognize outstanding, sustained faculty mentorship of undergraduate research and scholarship, was announced at the Celebrating Undergraduate Excellent Symposium, which was held on the Memorial Union Quad. Rochefort has had significant interactions with 80 OSU undergraduates over the past 15 years.  He takes an active role in recruitment and retention of underrepresented groups into STEM fields, in particular engineering.

Rochefort pioneered a mentoring pyramid model that starts with his own involvement and extends to post-docs, graduate students, undergraduate students, and high school students.  He founded the Summer Experience in Science and Engineering for Youth (SESEY) program in 1997 and this program has served over 600 high school students from groups traditionally underrepresented in engineering.  Rochefort also is one of the most active mentors in the Saturday Academy Apprenticeships in Science and Engineering Program, which provides an eight-week summer research experience for high school students.  He has personally mentored over 30 students in this program.

Undergraduate Researcher of the Year

Justin Biel is OSU’s first Undergraduate Researcher of the Year.  A senior honors student in biochemistry/biophysics, Biel has done research at OSU with Andy Karplus and Elisar Barbar.  He participated in the HHMI Summer undergraduate research program and plans a research career in biophysics.

Other students recognized as outstanding undergraduate researchers of their respective colleges include:

Alyssa Hersh – College of Public Health and Human Sciences

Alejandra Marquez-Loza – College of Agriculture

Hannah Mahoney – College of Liberal Arts

Jade Montgomery – College of Engineering

Trevor Waldien – CEOAS

River Wiedle – College of Science

Finalists for the awards for the respective colleges included

Elliott Jardin – College of Liberal Arts

Selina Liu – College of Science

Honorable Mentions included

Ann Bernart – College of Agriculture

Sara Fassio – College of Science

Nathan Hinkle – College of Engineering

Matt Kaiser – College of Science

Kimberly Melendez Rivera – BRR (interdisciplinary)

Afina Neunzert – College of Science

Olivia Paradis – Public Health and Human Sciences

Erin Peterson – College of Agriculture

Nini Tran – College of Science

Peter Wong – College of Science

Research Equipment Reserve Fund

The Research Office received 11 proposals for the Research Equipment Reserve Fund (RERF) Spring 2013 solicitation with requests totaling $381,311. After review and evaluation the Research Council provided the Research Office with a prioritized list of proposals recommended for funding. The Vice President for Research has approved 5 proposals for funding with combined budgets of $260,846.

The following proposals have been selected for funding:

  • Kutzler, Michelle (Dept. of Animal and Rangeland Sciences, College of Agricultural Sciences): “Inverted Stage Fluorescence Microscope with Imaging”
  • O’Malley, Kathleen (Coastal Oregon Marine Experiment Station/Dept. of Fisheries and Wildlife, College of Agricultural Sciences): “Replacement of an Imaging System Critical to Genetic Research”
  • Schilke, Karl (School of Chemical, Biological and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering): “Quartz Crystal Microbalance with Dissipation Monitoring (QCM-D)”
  • Stieger-Vanegas, Susanne (Dept. of Clinical Sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine): “VLAXS Veterinary Large Animal X-Ray System”
  • Wing, Michael (Dept. of Forest Engineering, Resources, and Management, College of Forestry): “LiDAR Aerial System”

Comments are closed.