Stacey Harper receives LL Stewart Faculty Scholars Award

Stacey Harper, assistant professor in the Department of Environmental & Molecular Toxicology and the School of Chemical, Biological and Environmental Engineering, is this year’s recipient of the LL Stewart Faculty Scholars award.

Established in 2005, the L.L. Stewart Faculty Scholars Program recognizes an outstanding faculty member at Oregon State University and provides resources to stimulate creative advancements in teaching, research, and extended education.

Stacey Harper studies the environmental, health and safety impacts of nanotechnology.

Each year, a Stewart Faculty Scholar will be selected by the OSU President from a pool of applicants who have been nominated for this prestigious award. The theme of the award is to support creativity and innovation among the university’s top scholars.

The L.L. Stewart Faculty Scholars Program is supported by an endowment established by L.L. Stewart and provides $30,000 in financial support for faculty selected as a Stewart Scholar. Ten thousand of this amount will be awarded as a stipend to the faculty member, and $20,000 may be used for any allowable teaching, research, or extended education expenses, including faculty release time. Recipients will have up to two years to spend the funds.

As a signature research scientist with the Oregon Nanoscience and Microtechnologies Institute (ONAMI), Harper’s research utilizes a novel, multidisciplinary approach and state-of-the-art technology to address important questions arising from human exposures to nanomaterials as potential causes of human environmental diseases. In 2011, the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) awarded Harper the Outstanding New Environmental Scientist Award to advance her work in nanotoxicity.

With funding from the LL Stewart Faculty Scholars award, Harper is proposing to develop a “Nanotechnology Environmental Health and Safety (NanoEHS) Personnel Certification Program” at OSU. The development of this certificate will provide dynamic workforce training to serve a rapidly growing field and be the first of its kind in the U.S.

~Angela Yeager

Comments are closed.