Snapshots 9-13

Sea Grant Communications recognized for work

Oregon Sea Grant Communications received an Apex “award of excellence” for – Hold that Thought: Questioning Five Common Assumptions about Communicating with the Public – , written by Joe Cone, edited by Rick Cooper, and designed by Patricia Andersson. The Apex Awards, now in their 21st year, recognize “excellence in publications work by professional communicators.” Apex Awards are based on excellence in graphic design, editorial content, and the ability to achieve overall communications excellence. ‘Hold that Thought’ is available online for free download at

Undergraduate research funded by research office

Jon Cassady, Vice President for Research, is pleased to announce the awards for the Undergraduate Research, Innovation, Scholarship and Creativity (URISC) 2009-10 Fall solicitation.
There were a total of 13 submissions, with requests for funding from the Research Office in the amount of $20,888.
Based on the recommendation of the URISC Advisory Panel, the Vice President for Research awarded 8 submissions for funding totaling $12,188.
The following proposals have been selected for funding:
·Christensen, Celene [Major: Geology and Environmental Science] (Faculty Project Advisor: Roy Haggerty, Dept. of Geosciences): “Development of a “Smart” Tracer: Microbial Respiration in Stream Sediment and the Resazurin-Resorufin System”
·Golden, Daniel [Major: Chemical Engineering] (Faculty Project Advisor: Ganti Murthy, Dept. Biological and Ecological Engineering): “Modeling Development of Controlled Algae Growth for the Use of Biofuel Extraction”
·Herdener, Nathan [Major: Psychology and Philosophy] (Faculty Project Advisor: Mei-Ching Lien, Dept. of Psychology): “Controlling the Focus of Visual Attention: Can Salient Stimuli Capture Attention Against Our Will?”
·Johnson, Maxwell [Major: Food Science and Technology] (Faculty Project Advisor: Juyun Lim, Dept. of Food Science and Technology): “The Effects of Taste and Retronasal Odor on Hedonic Perception”
·Lusk, Jason [Major: Chemistry] (Faculty Project Advisor: Rich Carter, Dept. of Chemistry): “Green Synthesis of the Natural Product Aconitine”
·Rering, Caitlin [Major: Environmental Chemistry] (Faculty Project Advisor: Jennifer Field, Dept. of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology): “Nicotine and its Urinary Metabolites in Wastewater: Validating Community Exposure to Legal and Illegal Drugs”
·Snow, Erika [Major: Bioresource Research] (Faculty Project Advisor: John Mata, Dept. of Biomedical Sciences): “M. Tuberculosis Selective Adenosine Kinase Nucleoside Polymers for Inhalation Therapy”
·Wilson, Jenna [Major: Bioengineering] (Faculty Project Advisor: Adam Higgins, School of Chemical and Environmental Engineering): “Optimization of the Freeze-Drying Procedure for Cultured Neurons”
The next solicitation for the URISC program can be found on the Research Office web site:

Student health lab given excellence award

The laboratory at OSU Student Health Services (SHS) is a recipient of the 2009 Laboratory Excellence Award. The award – presented by COLA, a national healthcare accreditation organization – signifies the SHS laboratory’s commitment to providing accurate and reliable test results to OSU students.
The award is achieved by those laboratories that are found to be compliant with all COLA essential and required criteria at the time of their on-site accreditation survey, which is performed every two years. Accreditation is given only to laboratories that apply rigid standards of quality in day-to-day operations, demonstrate continued accuracy, and pass a rigorous on-site laboratory survey.
In addition, award recipients must have demonstrated successful proficiency testing for the prior three testing events and have no valid complaints against the laboratory.
The SHS laboratory employs 3.5 full-time employees, and is equipped to provide most diagnostic procedures in-house. The five tests that the lab performs most frequently are liquid-based pap, direct strep, wet mount, chlamydia, and complete blood count (CBC). For more information about Student Health Services, call 541-737-WELL (9355) or visit

Sea Grant pub given 2009 Eco Award

On the Lookout for Aquatic Invaders won an Award of Excellence (first prize in its category, “Environmental Design and Illustration-Special Publications”) in the 2009 ECO AWARDS(r), “a competition recognizing and honoring excellence in the environmental communications field” sponsored by Global Environmental Communications, LLC. This publication was developed by Scott Wiedemer and Sam Chan, edited by Rick Cooper, and designed by Stefania Padalino and Patricia Andersson

Comments are closed.