OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

History Faculty

Director of the School of History, Philosophy, and Religion: Ben Mutschler
Professors: Ferngren, Guerrini, Husband, Katz, Kopperman, Luft, Osborne, Sarasohn
Associate Professors: Carson, Chappell, Hamblin, Ip, Mutschler, Rubert, von Germeten
Assistant Professors: Ritzheimer, Smith

Faculty

Dr. Mina Carson

Mina Carson
Associate Professor
302E Milam Hall
mcarson@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1259

Blog: The Historians Lens
Follow on Flickr

 

Ph.D. Harvard 1984
American Social and Cultural History

Dr. Marisa ChappellMarisa Chappell
Associate Professor
303A Milam Hall
marisa.chappell@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1266

 

Ph.D. Northwestern 2003
20th-Century U.S. History

Gary Ferngren

Gary Ferngren
Professor
304 Milam Hall
gferngren@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1262

 

 

Ph.D. British Columbia 1973
Greece and Rome, Social History of Ancient Medicine

anita-guerrina

Anita Guerrini

Horning Professor
in the Humanities

305B Milam Hall
anita.guerrini@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1308


Blog:
History, Science, Animals, Food

 

 

 

Ph.D. Indiana University 1983
History of the Life Sciences and Medicine

Dr. Jacob Darwin Hamblin Jacob Darwin Hamblin
Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Studies

310 Milam Hall
jacob.hamblin@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-3503

Blog:

Explorations in Science,
Technology, and the Environment.

 

 

UC Santa Barbara 2001
History of Science, History of Technology, Environmental History

william-husband 

William B. Husband
Professor
302F Milam Hall
whusband@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1263

 

Ph.D. Princeton 1984
Russia

Dr. Hung-Yok Ip

Hung-Yok Ip
Associate Professor

Currently on leave

 

Ph.D. UC Davis 1994
Asia

jon-katz 

Jonathan Katz
Professor
321 Milam Hall
jkatz@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1276

 

Ph.D. Princeton 1990
Middle East and Islam

Dr. Amy Koehlinger

Amy Koehlinger
Assistant Professor

302B Milam Hall
amy.koehlinger@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-3433

 

 

 

 

Ph.D. Yale 2002

North American Religious History, American Catholicism, Ethnographic Methods in historical research and writing

Dr. Paul Kopperman

Paul Kopperman
Professor
300 Milam Hall
pkopperman@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1265

 

Ph.D. Illinois 1972
England, Military, 18th Century Medicine

Dr. David Luft

David S. Luft

Horning Professor
in the Humanities

305B Milam Hall
david.luft@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1310

 

Ph.D. Harvard University 1972
Modern Central European History

Dr. Ben Mutschler

Ben Mutschler
Associate Professor
 

Director of School of History, Philosophy, and Religion

303E Milam Hall
bmutschler@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-3421

 

Ph.D. Columbia 2000
Colonial America, Early National

Christopher McKnight Nichols

 

Christopher McKnight Nichols
Assistant Professor

303C Milam Hall
christopher.nichols@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-8910

 

Ph.D. University of Virginia 2008

American intellectual, cultural, political, and foreign policy history

michael-osborne

Michael A. Osborne
Professor
302D Milam Hall
Mike.Osborne@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-0776

Ph.D. Wisconsin 1987
History of Modern Biology, Medicine, and Environmental Issues

Dr. Kara Ritzheimer

Kara Ritzheimer
Assistant Professor
306D Milam Hall
kara.ritzheimer@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-3469

Ph.D. SUNY Bingingham
Modern European History, German History, Mass Culture

 Dr. Steven Rubert

Steven C. Rubert
Associate Professor
306B Milam Hall
srubert@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1261

 

Ph.D. UCLA 1990
Africa

Dr. Lisa Sarasohn

Lisa Sarasohn
Professor
306A Milam Hall
lsarasohn@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1271

Ph.D. UCLA 1979
Medieval and Early Modern Europe,
Early Modern Science

Dr. Stacy Smith

 

Stacey Smith
Assistant Professor
Milam 303A
stacey.smith@oregonstate.edu

 

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin 2008
American West, 19th Century U.S., Civil War and Reconstruction

 

Dr. Nicole von Germeten

Nicole von Germeten
Associate Professor
Associate Director for History
325B Milam Hall nicole.vongermeten@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-9564

Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 2003
Latin America

Instructors

Julia Goodwin
Adjunct Professor
Western Civilization

Benton 201A
julia.goodwin@oregonstate.edu

Rodney Madison
Adjunct Professor
History of the United States

Weniger 273
madisonr@onid.oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1270

Jim McLendon
Adjunct Professor
Chinese/Japanese History

Milam 303B
mclendoj@onid.orst.edu
(541) 737-1868

Tim Reid
Online Instructor
History of the United States

reidt@onid.orst.edu
(541) 737-3421

Steven Shay
Adjunct Professor
History of the United States

Weniger 273
shays@onid.oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1270

Paul Wanke
Adjunct Professor
Western Civilization

Milam 303B
wankep@onid.orst.edu
(541) 737-1868

Emeriti

Name Contact Information
Paul Farber pfarber@oregonstate.edu
David King  
Tom McClintock  
Jim Morris  
Mary Jo Nye nyem@onid.orst.edu
Robert Nye nyer@onid.orst.edu
Kurt Philipp  
William Robbins brobbins@orst.edu
Brookes Spencer  
Cliff Trow  
Darold Wax  
Hugh Wubben  

Administration and Staff

Dwanee Howard, Assistant to the Director
322A Milam Hall
(541)737-7415
Dwanee.Howard@oregonstate.edu
 
Heather Stinger,Office Specialist
322 Milam Hall
(541)737-3421
heather.stinger@oregonstate.edu
 
David Bishop, Academic Coordinator
322B Milam Hall
(541) 737-8918
David.Bishop@oregonstate.edu
 
Robert Peckyno, Public Information Representative
322C Milam Hall
(541) 737-8560
robert.peckyno@oregonstate.edu