OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

Faculty

Full Time Faculty, Adjunt/E-Campus Faculty, Emeriti Faculty, Advisors, Staff

Administration

Name Office Phone Email
Ben Mutschler,
Director
Milam
324
541-737-1268 bmutschler@oregonstate.edu
Flo Leibowitz,
Assoc. Director for Philosophy
Milam
302B
541-737-4335 fleibowitz@oregonstate.edu
Paul Kopperman,
Assoc. Director for History
Milam
300
541-737-1265 pkopperman@oregonstate.edu
Allen Thompson,
Director of Graduate Studies
Milam
306D
541-737-5654 allen.thompson@oregonstate.edu
Dwanee Howard,
Assistant to the Director
Milam
322A
541-737-7415 Dwanee.Howard@oregonstate.edu
David Bishop,
Academic Coordinator
Milam
322B
541-737-8918 David.Bishop@oregonstate.edu

Faculty

   
Dr. James Blumenthal
James Blumenthal

Associate Professor

(P, R)
Indian and Tibetan
Intellectual History,
Mahayana Buddhist Philosophy,
Contemporary Buddhist Thought, Justice

Mina Carson
Mina Carson

Associate Professor

(H)


American Social and Cultural History


Dr. Courtney Campbell
Courtney Campbell
Professor

Hundere Endowed Chair
of Religion and Culture

(P, R) 

Biomedical Ethics,Death & Dying, Ethics

Marisa Chappell

Marisa Chappell
Associate Professor
(H)

 

20th-Century U.S. History


Dr. Sharyn Clough
Sharyn Clough

Associate Professor

Co-Director, Phronesis Lab

(P, R)

Philosophy of Science,
Feminism and Science,
Epistemology,
Contemporary Pragmatism

Gary Ferngren 

Gary Ferngren
Professor

(H)

Greece and Rome,
Social History of Ancient Medicine

Anita Guerrini
Anita Guerrini

Horning Professor
in the Humanities

(H)

History of the Life
Sciences and Medicine

Dr. Jacob Darwin Hamblin


Jacob Darwin Hamblin

Associate Professor


(H) 

History of Science,
History of Technology,
Environmental History

Dr. William Husband 


William B. Husband

Professor

(H)

Russia
 Hung-Yok Ip

Hung-Yok Ip
Associate Professor

(H, R)

Asia
Dr. Stephanie Jenkins
Stephanie Jenkins

Assistant Professor

Co-Director, Phronesis Lab
(P)
20th Century Continental Philosophy
(especially French), Feminist Philosophy,
Disability Studies, Critical Animal Studies,
and Ethics

jon-katz


Jonathan Katz

Professor

(H, R)

 Middle East and Islam

Dr. Jonathan Kaplan

Jonathan Kaplan
Associate Professor

(P)

Philosophy of Science,
Philosophy of Biology,
Environmental &
Research Ethics,
Political Theory 
Amy Koehlinger
Amy Koehlinger

Assistant Professor

(H, P, R)
North American Religious History,
American Catholicism,
Ethnographic Methods in
historical research and writing

Dr. Paul KoppermanPaul Kopperman
Professor

Associate Director for History

(H, R)

England, Military, 18th Century Medicine 

Dr. Flo Leibowitz
Flo Leibowitz

Professor

Associate Director
for Philosophy

(P) 

 Philosophy of Art; Art, Ethics and Politics; Film Studies; Metaphysics

Dr. David Luft

David S. Luft

Horning Professor
in the Humanities


(H)

Modern Central European History,
Intellectual History

Dr. Ben MutschlerBen Mutschler
Associate Professor

Director of School of History, Philosophy, and Religion

(H) 

Colonial & Revolutionary American History,
History of Disease, OSU History

Christopher McKnight Nichols

Christopher McKnight Nichols
Assistant Professor

(H, R)

American intellectual, cultural, political,
and foreign policy history

Dr. Joseph Orosco

Joseph Orosco

Associate Professor

(P)

Social & Political Philosophy,
American & Latin American Philosophy,
Philosophy of Race

Michael A. Osborne

Michael A. Osborne
Professor

(H)

History of Modern Biology, Medicine, and Environmental Issues

Dr. Kara Ritzheimer

Kara Ritzheimer
Assistant Professor

(H)

Modern European History,
German History, Mass Culture

Dr. Steven Rubert


Steven C. Rubert

Associate Professor

(H)

Africa
Dr. Stuart Sarbacker

 

Stuart Ray Sarbacker
Associate Professor

(P, R)

Comparative Religion
and Indian Philosophy

Dr. Stacy Smith

Stacey Smith
Assistant Professor

(H)

American West, 19th Century U.S., Civil War and Reconstruction 
Dr. Allen Thompson


Allen Thompson

Associate Professor

Director of
Graduate Studies

(P)

Environmental Philosophy, Philosophical Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Practical Reason

Dr. Bill Uzgalis


Bill Uzgalis

Professor

(P)

History of Philosophy,
Epistemology,
Metaphysics

Dr. Nicole von Germeten


Nicole von Germeten

Associate Professor

(H, R)


Latin America

 Part Time Faculty, E-Campus Faculty, and Instructors

Thomas Bahde
Milam 303E
bahdet@onid.orst.edu
(541) 737-1868

Julia Goodwin
Benton 201A
julia.goodwin@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-4061

Rodney Madison
madisonr@onid.oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1270

Tim Reid
reidt@onid.orst.edu
(541) 737-3421

Steven Shay
Milam 303B
shays@onid.oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1270

Paul Wanke
Milam 303E
wankep@onid.orst.edu
(541) 737-1868

Richard Anderson
andersri27@verizon.net

David Arnold
Milam 325A
David.Arnold@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1219

Jon Dorbolo
jon.dorbolo@oregonstate.edu

Ina Roy-Faderman
doctori@reductio.com

Charles Goodrich

Director, Spring Creek Project
Hovland 101
charles.goodrich@oregonstate.edu

Marta Kunecka
kuneckam@onid.orst.edu

Ben Stenberg

Hovland 102C
stenberb@onid.orst.edu

Tony Vogt
Milam 315
vogtbl@onid.orst.edu
541-737-2955

Emeritus Faculty

History Emeriti

Paul Farber (paul.farber8@gmail.com)
David King
Tom McClintock
Jim Morris
Mary Jo Nye (nyem@onid.orst.edu)
Robert Nye (nyer@onid.orst.edu)
Kurt Philipp
William Robbins (brobbins@oregonstate.edu)
Lisa Sarasohn (sarasoli@onid.orst.edu)
Brookes Spencer
Cliff Trow
Darold Wax

Philosophy Emeriti

Peter Anton
Marcus Borg
Y. Tim Hosoi
C. Warren Hovland
Peter List
Kathleen Dean Moore
Lani Roberts
Michael Scanlan
Nicholas J. Yonker

 

Advisors

David Bishop

Academic Coordinator

Milam 322B
David.Bishop@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-8918

David Arnold

Milam 325A
David.Arnold@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-1219

Graduate Advisor/Director of Graduate Studies

Allen Thompson
Milam 306D
541-737-5654

Staff

Heather Stinger
Office Specialist
heather.stinger@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-3421

Robert Peckyno
Public Information Representative
robert.peckyno@oregonstate.edu
Milam 322C
(541) 737-8560