OSU’s 14th Annual Benny Awards

June 6th, 2012

Last night marked Oregon State University’s 14th annual Bennys, an end-of-the-year celebration honoring the achievements of our student athletes.

OSU's 14th Anual Bennys

OSU's 14th Anual Bennys

Almost 40 Beavers were recognized for their accomplishments, with wrestler Clayton Jack and gymnast Leslie Mak taking home the Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards. Joan D and Ken Austin were presented with the Martin Chaves Lifetime Achievement Award as two of the university’s strongest supporters, including their $10million gift to the College of Business, where the new COB building will bear their name. In addition to individual awards, the Wrestling and Softball teams were acknowledged as the Male and Female Teams of the Year.

Here is the complete list of the 2011-2012 Bennys Awards:

Male Athlete of the Year: Clayton Jack (wrestling)

Female Athlete of the Year: Leslie Mak (gymnastics)

Male Newcomer of the Year: Michael Conforto (baseball)

Female Newcomer of the Year: Elizabeth Santana (softball)

Male Performance of the Year: Jared Cunnigham (basketball)

Female Performance of the Year: Melanie Jones (gymnastics)

Male Sport Coach of the Year: Jim Zalesky (wrestling)

Female Sport Coach of the Year: Scott Rueck (basketball)

Male Team of the Year: Wrestling

Female Team of the Year: Softball

Robert Byers Spirit Award: Anna Taylor (rowing)

Glenn Klein Community Service Awards: Kevin McShane (basketball) and Andrea Harvey (rowing)

Martin Chaves Lifetime Achievement Award: Ken and Joan D. Austin

All-Americans: Laura Carlyle (track), Scott Crichton (football), Clayton Jack (wrestling), Melanie Jones (gymnastics), Leslie Mak (gymnastics), Mike Mangrum (wrestling), Sean Mannion (football), Scott Sakaguchi (wrestling), Makayla Stambaugh (gymnastics), Dylan Wynn (football)

NCAA Regional Champions: Leslie Mak (gymnastics), Olivia Vivian (gymnastics)

Pac-12 Champions: Clayton Jack (wrestling), Mike Mangrum (wrestling), Scott Sakaguchi (wrestling)

Scholar Athletes of the Year: Keri Holmstrom (swimming), Marsha Lampi (track), Meghan Leineweber (rowing), Casey Masterson (track), Hannah McCulley (swimming), Lauren Morgenthaler (rowing), Rhys Murphy (basketball), Marcus Perry (football), Emily Richardson (softball), Melissa Sloan (rowing), John Swenson (soccer), Leslie Urban (rowing)

Congratulations to all of these outstanding individuals…go Beavs!


Comments are closed.

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives