Multiple OSU Faculty Receive Various National Awards

November 29th, 2007

Oregon State University researchers, professors, and departmental faculty have received several top honors.

Kevin Ahern, a senior instructor in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Oregon State University, has received the Mentor Award from the Medical Research Foundation of Oregon. In their press release:

This year’s Mentor Award honors Oregon State University’s Kevin Ahern, Ph.D. As a Senior Instructor in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics and member of the university’s Premedical Committee, Dr. Ahern has played a role in teaching and inspiring thousands of Oregon State students preparing for careers in medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, optometry, and other health and science professions. Students and colleagues alike consistently laud Dr. Ahern’s ingenious and energetic approach to teaching highly challenging subjects and his engaged, proactive approach to academic advising. His unique commitment to Oregon’s medical education pipeline has helped Oregon State’s premedical graduates achieve a near-perfect record of medical school acceptance. Beyond the classroom, he serves as director of OSU’s Howard Hughes Medical Institute Summer Undergraduate Research Program, enhancing the research training and experiences of hundreds of students exploring careers in biomedical science. His passion for science and learning extends to the international stage, where he contributes lively writings to widely read publications such as Genetic Engineering News and BioTechniques.

Dawn Wright, an Oregon State University professor of geography and oceanography, has been named Oregon Professor of the Year by the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. On their website:

The U.S. Professors of the Year program salutes the most outstanding undergraduate instructors in the country—those who excel in teaching and positively influence the lives and careers of students. Sponsored by CASE and The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, it is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring.

Wright (a.k.a. “Deepsea Dawn”) is one of forty faculty members to receive the award in individual states and the District of Columbia and has been a professor of Geography and Oceanography at OSU since 1995.

Carl Schreck, an Oregon State University scientist and researcher in Fisheries and Wildlife, will receive a national award in April at the White House. As one of the leading salmon researchers in the nation, Shreck is honored as recipient of a Meritorious Presidential Rank Award. The award is given to a small number of senior leaders by the president each year. According to their website:

Each year, the President recognizes and celebrates a small group of career Senior Executives with the President’s Rank Award for exceptional long-term accomplishments. Beginning with awards granted in 2003, eligibility for this award is extended to other categories of high-performing senior career employees. Winners of this prestigious award are strong leaders, professionals, and scientists who achieve results and consistently demonstrate strength, integrity, industry, and a relentless commitment to excellence in public service.


Comments are closed.

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives